Problem with Softmod

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by RufusDavidson, Jan 27, 2011.

Jan 27, 2011

Problem with Softmod by RufusDavidson at 9:26 AM (1,648 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

1. RufusDavidson
    OP

Newcomer RufusDavidson Newbie

United States
    I softmodded my Wii a long time ago by following an easy-to-understand youtube video showing me exactly what I needed to do in order to install the homebrew channel and the neogamma loader. Because of that, I've been able to play backup games ever since. I've been completely neglecting virtual console and wiiware games since then, but now I've got the urge to play them again.

I think I understand how to download them and put them on my sd card , and I even managed to stumble my way through and put some games on the Wii so they show up in the channels. But when I try to start them up, it either freezes, or sends me right back to wii home. Is there some reason for this? I'm not very good at understanding technical talk or terms, and unless the instructions are easy-to-understand or "follow me and do what I do" videos, I doubt I can get this to work.

But still, is there some reason why the wiiware and vc games aren't working? I'm pretty sure I installed them correctly, since they show up in the channels

2. RufusDavidson
    OP

United States
    Just bumping this up once, since it quickly moved to a different page.

I'd also like to add that I did search the forum first. It's just that most of what I found I didn't really understand, so I'm not even sure if it was what I was looking for. Back when I softmodded my Wii, all I did was follow what I was told on the youtube video. I didn't have any understanding on what I was actually doing

3. ddetkowski

Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

United States
    Use Modmii from my sig.
    It runs from your PC, and DL's all files needed, all YOU need
    to be able to do is follow the generated text guide, and copy the files from your PC to an SD card.