Problem with Gamecube Saver

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by The-Lion, Jul 21, 2008.

Jul 21, 2008

Problem with Gamecube Saver by The-Lion at 9:08 AM (4,746 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. The-Lion
    OP

    Newcomer The-Lion Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi everybody
    I have a problem with the Gamecube Saver made by dasda. Here's the problem:
    I don't know when it's finished with copying. I get a screen with Code Dump or something with a bunch of letters and numbers under it. And when I press A on that screen it said Reset. But I can't do anything. When I turn off my Wii there has nothing happened.
     


  2. The-Lion
    OP

    Newcomer The-Lion Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Really no solutions? I wanna transfer a Pok√©mon save [​IMG]
     
  3. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok rename the save to something like PK.gci(sorry i cant rememebr what the extention is ment to be its in the readme) then try install it, just run it, and then check if its on your memory card after, if i remember its ment to get a dump code because he never really finished codeing it, he just useing some dirty hacks to get it together
     
  4. Krono6

    Newcomer Krono6 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All you have to remember is to keep the file name as 2 characters. They can be any character, just either one or two characters in length.
    E.g: A.gci, AA.gci

    It says this in the Wiibrew entry of the program. http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Homebrew_apps/Gamecube_Saver
     
  5. sugoykun

    Newcomer sugoykun Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Indonesia
    hey.. i just know this tool.. so i don't have to buy the gamecube memory card.. is that right?
     
  6. siggy2guitar

    Newcomer siggy2guitar Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Country:
    United States
    couldnt we run homebrew in gc mode this way eventually, just by doing what team twizzers did in zelda where we crash the game and run our own code that'll be installed in the gc memcard?
     
  7. blazingwolf

    Member blazingwolf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    Um, guys, this just installs gamecube saves onto your memory card. Thats all.
     
  8. The-Lion
    OP

    Newcomer The-Lion Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    And that's the problem! It doesn't work for me. I did exactly what you say, it asked do you want to copy PK.gci To memory card A/B. I press 'A' and it starts copying, it chrashed and nothing happend!
     
  9. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It will crash at end, but it should work.
     
  10. The-Lion
    OP

    Newcomer The-Lion Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So, I think I do everything as I should do, but it still doesn't work....
     
  11. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    maybe the save is bad, this program is still pretty buggy, try to do it to slot B
     
  12. The-Lion
    OP

    Newcomer The-Lion Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Doesn't work [​IMG]
     
  13. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    send me the save and ill see if it works for me, then ill tell you exactly how i did it, at least then we can identfy the problem step by step
     
  14. The-Lion
    OP

    Newcomer The-Lion Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Alright here's the link: Click here!
    This map is in the root of my SD Card (filesystem FAT)
     
  15. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that link doesnt work for me
     
  16. Krono6

    Newcomer Krono6 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I hate to be offensive, though I swear the majority of people here are partially blind.
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Homebrew_apps/Gamecube_Saver

    Read the usage instructions there.
    The file must be placed under a folder named: gc_saves
    Not in the root of your SD card.
     
  17. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lmao i thought he would have read that befor asking for help, next time i offer help im just going to post the readme lol
     
  18. The-Lion
    OP

    Newcomer The-Lion Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Not so fast! The rar which should be in the downloadlink, contains a folder called gc_saves which is in the root of my SD card and contains the save! Just as I said! And the link works for me btw
     
  19. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you have to rename it to .GCM not GCI it even says that on the app, unless thats my own custom XML file

    edit, you gamesave doesnt work either, i dont think its all there(as in it wasnt all downloaded)
     
  20. The-Lion
    OP

    Newcomer The-Lion Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No it's not .GCM look at the link to Wiibrew posted earlier. I think it was a mistake in the XML file

    I'm sorry but I don't get what you said. Is my file not good or was your download corrupted?
     

Share This Page