Problem with G6 REAL (?)

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by Dead Ghost, Feb 5, 2008.

Feb 5, 2008

Problem with G6 REAL (?) by Dead Ghost at 7:07 PM (1,720 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Dead Ghost
    OP

    Member Dead Ghost GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Last night was working ok, this morning, i've turned it on (ds lite+g6 real) and there were no games or saves on the card. Nothing! The NDS folder was empty. I reformat the card (through the ds) and copied back all my games and is working, for the moment.
    My luck was i didn't have any important saves on the card (just 2-3 saves, from some games that i've just started). But what if it will happen again, and this time i will lose a save from the middle (or end) of a hard game (say Contra 4 [​IMG])? I think i will go berserk if that happens.
    So....Why this happend? Is my card faulty?? How i can prevent this in the future? I paid for my G6 1gb real some 60$, so it's not cheap. [​IMG]
     
  2. imz

    Member imz GBAtemp's vigilante

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Gotham city
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Damn straight! mines messed up beyond solution (Games can't access the save battery) it's been like that for some time now. I paid good money for mine too and it worked for like just over a month, I treated it well, if I never manage to get it fixed, well I guess all I can say is it's a con.
     
  3. Codekingmss

    Newcomer Codekingmss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Mine has worked great. It only corrupted when i bumped it loose while copying a game.

    I do have a habit of backing up weekly because of my M3 adapter though so any corruption is minimal.
     
  4. squall3031

    Member squall3031 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    187
    Country:
    Australia
    same here....but the one at fault was my retarded brother. He did it twice and now for some stupid reason, when i connect it to PC, it's asking for a driver. It wasn't like this last time. Does anyone know how to fix this?
     
  5. Dead Ghost
    OP

    Member Dead Ghost GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I don't know, but after i formated it (from the ds), it works ok, i hope it will stay this way.
     
  6. squall3031

    Member squall3031 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    187
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, I just looked at the documentation on how to format it properly. Now it's fixed but we had a fight already. Still, i wanted to bash his stupid head in. Everything he touches, they break. I lost my save files too....
     
  7. Codekingmss

    Newcomer Codekingmss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    United States
    Anytime the PC won't see it. Wipe it from within the G6DS loader program.
     
  8. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    It's probably that it came loose after you connected it to the PC or something which corrupted it.
     
  9. Arno

    Member Arno GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I had a similar problem, just that all the files on it got corrupted, not erased. Had to format, as well, though.
     
  10. Wightslayer

    Member Wightslayer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    Australia
    Join the club, man. That happened to me and I didn't back up so it was even worse. Man...I was just about to finish pokemon TT_TT
     
  11. CYatta

    Member CYatta GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    Just going to add that if ya'll get data corruption, there ARE pen drive data recovery programs. I've had my card corrupted about, 4 times already. Managed to save my .0s using some "Data Doctor Recovery" application. It's a pretty wonky looking application (on of those cheap dime a dozen looking "MP3 TO WAV RM WMVetc" setups), but it does the job. There may even be better ones. Just though I'd toss that out there since everytime I read about corrupted data, I only ever see people getting sad that they had to format. You can recover it first [​IMG]
     
  12. Dead Ghost
    OP

    Member Dead Ghost GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Thank you CYatta for the tip. [​IMG] I didn't know they work well for flash memory. With the hdd recovery programs i didn't have any luck in the past retrieving data form a hdd failure...
     
  13. qal

    Newcomer qal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    2 fix this prblem all u hav 2 do is leve tha g6 card connected 2 the pc and it recharges the internal battery thts it easy as pie hmm pie
     

Share This Page