Problem with Castlevania POR saves

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by belzilep, Feb 23, 2007.

Feb 23, 2007
  1. belzilep
    OP

    Newcomer belzilep Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    Here is the problem.

    1- I copy my original cart Castlevania: POR save to the G6 ROM save.
    2- I start the Castlevania: POR ROM.
    3- It tells me the save data is corrupt and deletes the save.

    However, everything in the original cart works flawlessly. Did you ever have this problem? And how can I solve it? I've tried every writing method for the ROM, and it never worked once. Maybe my ROM is corrupt, but that would be doubtful, since I can easily save from inside the ROM without any problems. Or maybe I need to alter the .0 save file before feeding it to the G4. I don't know.

    It's not a life or death matter, but I don't want to spend 30 hours of gaming I've already done.
     
  2. Lily

    Former Staff Lily One Scary Lady

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,727
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    You need the G6 Save Converter tool.
    (http://forums.maxconsole.net/showthread.php?t=26252)
     
  3. belzilep
    OP

    Newcomer belzilep Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    Nope, it didn't work. Or maybe I didn't use it properly. Do you have any advice?
     
  4. GameGeezer

    Member GameGeezer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    United States
    He shouldn't need the save converter tool since the G6 will pull the save directly off the cartridge. You may have just been unlucky and had a bad data transfer. The problem with transferring the rom is that it removes the save from the cartridge when it transfers it.

    Is the name of the game file on your card the same as the file you are transferring?
     
  5. belzilep
    OP

    Newcomer belzilep Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    It doesn't remove the save. All save transfers are copies, so I didn't lose my original save on the cart (hopefully, as the G6 one got deleted by the ROM). No matter how many times I try, it always says it's corrupted.

    That question is a good one. I have doubts that the ROM I have is not good in some way (as for the file name, the G6 backup tool only copies contents, not filenames, so I don't think it's the problem). I will check that in RomeR and change the header on a backup ROM to see what happens.

    EDIT: The header is good, there's no problem in it. The game code and ROM name are good. And I downloaded a new ROM, but to no avail.
     
  6. GBA_Temper

    Member GBA_Temper *KING OF GBATEMP*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    Atlanta,Ga. United States
    Country:
    United States
    humm I have done DIRECT CUT in PASTE in when I put the games back on my LIte it works Fine...
     

Share This Page