Problem with BackUps - Wiikey

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kalalauzen, Aug 26, 2007.

Aug 26, 2007
  1. kalalauzen
    OP

    Newcomer kalalauzen Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    So, I have been having a lot of problems with my Wii backups, and Disc Read Error messages. I can get games to load, sometimes they will boot up, sometimes not. Then, they may boot, play for a bit, but then a read error occurs. If i eject the disc and pop it back in it usually loads properly then. Any idea what is going on? Bad media?

    I have primarily been using Verbatim DVD-R burned at 4X. I have read they are usually some of the best discs to use.

    My drive is a Samsung SH-S182M updated with the latest firmware. I have also tried verbatim DVD+R as well with the same problem.

    If anyone has any suggestions or comments I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks!!!
     
  2. sidneyyoung

    Member sidneyyoung GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    Bermuda
    The pot probably needs a tweak. Though you may get away with a dvd cleaning disc. The wii won't read it but in it's attempt, it will dust off the laser lens.

    heres a vid to show how to find the pot adjustment... http://www.vimeo.com/user129039/videos/rss (note how he moves worm mechanism to expose the pot adjustment screw in the gap, where he carefully removed the tape)

    edit..my bad it says 1/16 of a turn anti clockwise not 1/6.. thats about right

    let me know how it goes please if you attempt it, as i might do it right from the get go when i finally chip my newly bought wii.
     
  3. kalalauzen
    OP

    Newcomer kalalauzen Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States

    Thanks for the info...not sure if i will try this or not. I am hoping it is something simpler then this [​IMG] If I do end up trying it I will let you know. For now, I think I may try some other media and see if that does anything. Gotta get some new media to test 1st, tho...heh.

    If it could be anything else, and someone wants to to chime in here, that would be great!!! [​IMG]
     
  4. sidneyyoung

    Member sidneyyoung GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    Bermuda
    note my edit.. got to get my eyes tested
     
  5. kingmathyou

    Newcomer kingmathyou Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    I have the same problem. I am going to try to reinstall wiikey. That's the only thing I could think of. LMK if you find a solution, i'll let you know if reinstalling the wiikey worked or not.
     
  6. Sick Wario

    Member Sick Wario Club Nintendo

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,209
    Location:
    NNID: godrugal
    Country:
    United Arab Emirates
    verbs are great in the wii

    try burning at 8x using nero. works every time 16x doesn't
     
  7. Mopade

    Mopade Newbie

    Same problem with my wiikey, for example WarioWare works fine but MarioStrikers doesn't work.

    Before 3.0 Update MarioStrikers worked fine [​IMG]
     

Share This Page