1. gamer765

    gamer765 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    United States
    You can't drag and drop because it's firmware, not a file. The cart needs firmware to be able to pull off its tricks to bypass Nintendo checks. The kernel is the only thing that you can drag and drop since it doesn't get flashed to the cart.
     
    Rydian likes this.
  2. phia

    phia Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i did had metro icon and the update wotked great
     
  3. RodrigoDavy

    RodrigoDavy GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    Brazil
    Did you update on a DS phat, DS lite, DSi or 3DS?
     
  4. isthar

    isthar Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    FYI I'm one of the ones reporting success on my originally rafal nadal (spelling?) tennis, and when I installed the 4.5 update I reported how the help page says SysInfo 3DS3.0.0 but actually now I installed Wood 1.55 and now it reads:
    HW: R4i Gold 3DSb
    Sys: NDSi 1.45&3DS4.5.0-10

    everything is working
     
    RodrigoDavy likes this.
  5. misssmk

    misssmk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    Now I'm nervous because I'm currently awaiting the arrival of my card to use with my new 3DS XL. Now I wonder if I should've waited before making my cart purchase. Well at least I have a DSi, DSi XL to possibly try an update if I need too.
     
  6. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat USB and Mini Windows 10 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,030
    Country:
    United States
    After this update gets fixed, I'm still buying a DSTwo. I need my GBA fix, and my DSi can't play GBA games until I get it. Is the GBA Emulator for DSTwo updated frequently, and how's the compatibility for it?
     
  7. ichichfly

    ichichfly GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    RodrigoDavy likes this.
  8. RodrigoDavy

    RodrigoDavy GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    Brazil
    I updated the Wood and redownloaded the patches... It still doesn't work... :hateit:
     
    JayRo likes this.
  9. phia

    phia Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    Netherlands
     
  10. Midnight Tboy

    Midnight Tboy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    Empty message Phia???

    leading us down the garden path?

    Only one other person has said they managed to update from Metroid earlier in the thread....and they were originally on Kirby pre-metroid.

    So wonder if its possible that us who are on metroid can 'downgrade' to kirby
     
  11. kilikman

    kilikman Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Okay guys new update here.

    I contacted R4iDSCN over the issue and I got the following statement from them:

    "We will release a new patch to fix that bug soon...."

    It looks as if they're aware of the current issue and a fix will be released soon. Until then, all I can say is that we just sit tight!
     
  12. isthar

    isthar Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United States
    if that was for me, I used a DS Lite
     
  13. michellant

    michellant Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi,

    I ordred the revision C with "deep labyrinth" icon. I ran the update patch to get the "Metroid Demo" before actually reading the news on the r4ids.cn website and now my cards are loading the game list menu but any game I try to load gets stuck on a white loading screen. Has anybody seen that problem before or know how to fix it. I tried to update with the latest patch but still not working. Need help.
     
  14. pauluchin

    pauluchin Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Chile
    Hi I have a card with the Rev. C Metroid Demo icon and reviewing options Wood Firmware Help says "HW: R4i Gold 3DSb" not c this is the mistake both as updating firmware are taking the flashcard as Rev: B
    Excuse my English I'm using google translate
     
  15. gamer765

    gamer765 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Country:
    United States
    Wood says "HW: R4i Gold 3DSb" also, but I know for a fact my card is a revision C since I updated it to the 4.5.0 firmware patch. All genuine cards are supposed to say "HW: R4i Gold 3DSb".
     
  16. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    Wood is not firmware, Wood is for game compatibility.

    Firmware updates are for 3DS and DSi compatibility, and those DO need to actually be run to apply.
     
  17. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat USB and Mini Windows 10 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,030
    Country:
    United States
  18. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat USB and Mini Windows 10 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,030
    Country:
    United States
    I emailed www.r4ids.cn yesterday, and the got back to me today. Here's the full email screenshot from my phone:

    (The bottom is what I wrote, the top was their response back)

    [​IMG]
     
  19. pyromaniac123

    pyromaniac123 ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็(ಠ益ಠส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,006
    Country:
    Everyone needs to calm the fuck down and wait for the update.
     
    oldskoolboarder likes this.
  20. sinx4lyfe

    sinx4lyfe Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    United States
    Hi guys i recently bought a 3dsxl w/ mario kart preinstalled and as everyone said it comes with 4.30 but im going to update to the latest 4.5 one, and i just ordered a r4 gold flash cart from these guys http://www.dsflashcart.com/r4i-gold-3ds-wood-r4i-3ds-flashcard-for-ds-dsi-3ds-p-248.html my question is they come pre-installed before shipping since im going to update my 3ds to the latest firmware can i go online on my 3ds while using this updated cart? and will i have the same problem you guys are having? Seems like most of you are the ones that are not on the 3ds xl so im just wondering.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - updating, Revision, Problem