Pro Yakyuu Family Stadium (NTSC-J) firmware update

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Knocks, May 1, 2008.

  1. Knocks
    OP

    Member Knocks GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Country:
    Anyone try this game on an NTSC-U or PAL machine yet? Apparently this game contains the 3.3J update. I currently have a semi-bricked NTSC-U Wii (messed up by Wii Chess) and would hate going from a semi-brick to a total brick.
     
  2. Miles

    Member Miles GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    Semi-brick from Wii Chess?
    What?
     
  3. Knocks
    OP

    Member Knocks GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Country:
    Well, I pulled the trigger. The update went fine, my console remains semi-bricked with duplicate Japanese channels, which I'm going to remove in a minute.

    Update: The game boots to a black screen, with or without the duplicate channels
     
  4. mwaddoups

    Newcomer mwaddoups Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I expected that might be the case - the simple way to tell is open the iso with trucha and check the WiiSystemMenu version in the first partition under sys. If its v256 its the same as all other updates that have been released.

    It seemed unlikely it would be 3.3J as well, as that hasn't been released yet afaik!
     
  5. Knocks
    OP

    Member Knocks GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Country:
    I checked with Wii Update Manager, it says the update is 3.1jv3. In any case, the game doesn't boot.
     
  6. mb01

    Member mb01 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Country:
    Australia
    Another game that doesn't work with freeloader. Has anyone tried it with the language patcher, forcing it to use Japanese?
     
  7. vv_

    Newcomer vv_ Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    France
    Yes. Unsuccessfully.
     
  8. mb01

    Member mb01 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Country:
    Australia
    Damn, i wonder why this and a couple of other games still refuse to boot. Even with all the region free tools we have now. I guess it remains a mystery...
     
  9. Knocks
    OP

    Member Knocks GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Country:
    Works with WiiFree 2.3b now. Don't forget to brickblock.
     
  10. mb01

    Member mb01 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Country:
    Australia
    What settings did you use mate? What region console?

    EDIT: Just tried patching to PAL with Wiifree 2.3b DID NOT WORK.
     
  11. Knocks
    OP

    Member Knocks GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Country:
    I brickblocked first, then used WiiFrii to patch from NTSC-J to NTSC-U and kept language settings as is. Everything works fine on a a U.S. Wii--I was getting a black screen before I used WiiFrii.
     
  12. mb01

    Member mb01 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Country:
    Australia
    ok i'll try that. I brickblocked after, but also i patched the language to English so that is what may have stuffed it up. I'll report back.

    EDIT: Still doesn't work. Either you have a magic Wii or this game just will not work on PAL. Everyone from other forums still can't get it to work, even on NTSC.
     

Share This Page