Priiloader or Preloader?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ~Wiiloader~, Mar 15, 2011.

Mar 15, 2011

Priiloader or Preloader? by ~Wiiloader~ at 12:54 AM (2,495 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. ~Wiiloader~
    OP

    Member ~Wiiloader~ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    K-2L
    Country:
    United States
    Why should People or should NOT install Priiloader or Preloader on their Wii's?

    What do i get by installing Priiloader or Preloader?

    There are talks that Priiloader or Preloader can BRICK Wii. is that true. and if it is why should anyone install Priiloader or Preloader?


    Thanks in Advance [​IMG]
     
  2. jskyboo

    Member jskyboo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Country:
    United States
    Preloader is long since discontinued, Priiloader is the continuation of the project by a new coder DacoTaco. The installation of either is a dangerous time and it can brick your wii if it messes up or you unplug your wii or something. It is useful to load up before the system menu for a few reasons one is brick protection from bad wad installs or removing the system menu ios, another is to load system menu hacks on the fly.
     
  3. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Let me just start by saying that Priiloader is an unofficial update to Preloader. And since Preloader's no longer supported, it's no longer an option. Just use Priiloader.

    Priiloader allows hacks/patches to be applied to the system menu, along with an extra layer of brick protection (which shouldn't be used alone since it protects from only certain kinds of bricks). It also allows control of boot settings, and a few other useful features.

    The only possible chance of brick is if you screw up the (relatively simple) installation, or if you screw up something that Priiloader doesn't protect from. But the latter can be prevented by using BootMii as boot2.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  4. UranusKiller

    Member UranusKiller TranceMaster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    Redcar, England, UK.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Preloader/Priiloader installs extremely fast, i don't think iv'e herd of a case where someone tries to stress that such a great installable/gainful program has bricked their wii. I'm pretty sure most people on this board have preloader/priiloader, starpatch or the like. Or if better, Bootmii boot2 + preloader blahblah.

    [EDIT] Need to fix my keyboard, a coffee drop and a bath wash has borked my ooooooo's lol. I have to keep re-editing my post, perhaps i should double check first! [​IMG]
     
  5. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Priiloader is the continuation of preloader.

    It has added features, bug fixes and more options. [​IMG]

    Both overwrite the system menu, so there is brick potential. However, it is minimal and only occurs during the installation for a split second.


    After that, both offer full protection against banner bricks!

    It can region free everything and prevent your wii from UPGRADING!

    Also, you can set your wii to automatically boot into the HBC, bootmii (IOS) or your favorite USB loader.


    Therefore, it is GOOD! [​IMG]
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  6. UranusKiller

    Member UranusKiller TranceMaster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    Redcar, England, UK.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With the preventing of enabling the no update, would it still let you proceed if you did a connection test then asked to perform update, would it actually do the update, or give an error? Or is it just for disk updates?

    Grr my ooo's!
     
  7. ground

    Member ground GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    906
    Country:
    Netherlands
    With online updating you stil get a ask prompt, but if you click on yes, you get an error that it can't reach system files.

    And correct me if i'am wrong, but for the disk updates it skips just the part of checking for update's on the disk.
     
  8. UranusKiller

    Member UranusKiller TranceMaster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    951
    Location:
    Redcar, England, UK.
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ahh I see, ok thanx. Have you tried? [​IMG]
     
  9. ground

    Member ground GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    906
    Country:
    Netherlands
    With the online updates: yes.

    But i didn't try it with disk updates, but I read that somewhere.
     
  10. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    That is how it works yes.
     
  11. ~Wiiloader~
    OP

    Member ~Wiiloader~ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    K-2L
    Country:
    United States
    Can i install Priiloader or Preloader on SNEEK, and is there realy need to do that because i cnant BRICK SNEEK right?? [​IMG] ......... but the main reason i want to install Priiloader or Preloader on SNEEK is that i want to use hacks [​IMG]
     
  12. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    use priiloader 0.4 for sneek
     
  13. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    yes. I'm not sure how to do that but yes you should be able to.
     
  14. OverjoY

    Member OverjoY GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Rotterdam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You don't need Priiloader for hacks in Sneek. Just add them in SMenu.c

    Priiloader 0.4 runs fine on (S)(U)neek (hacks maybe buggy)
     

Share This Page