PriiLoader can't start HBC 1.08 after update (Total NOOB!)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by jonk2, Aug 22, 2010.

1. jonk2
    OP

Newcomer jonk2 Member

United States
    Hi all, I've read and searched the threads until my eyeballs are raw, so I sincerely apologise in advance for this no-doubt retarded question, but I am a total NOOB and am totally stumped.... :-( - I have a problem on two Wii's that I've softmodded which occurs only after I update the HBC to 1.08.

Both Wii's are running 4.2e (I see conflicting headers on websites on whether or not to upgrade to 4.3 so haven't done it) - I used the guide at http://lifehacker.com/5518518/how-to-back-...rnal-hard-drive to mod my first Wii, then I used SciiFii v3 to mod my brother's one. Both seemed to work fine using USB_Loader_GX - I set my brother's up to use PriiLoader to boot directly to USB_Loader_GX and that was fine. However I couldn't get that feature to work on the other Wii (Priiloader load/install file would install the file, but couldn't load it), so I had it boot into the HBC directly, then I select the USB_Loader program from there.

I've returned my brother's Wii (The SciiFii v3 hacked) one to him as while I never got PriiLoader to load the HBC without that error, as I could still get it to boot directly to the USB_Loader_GX as an "installed file", that was fine because playing games was all he used it for anyway. But as I cannot get this other Wii to boot directly into USB_Loader and now, if I lose the ability to boot to the HBC too then I'd have to boot into the System Menu, select the HBC from there, then choose USB_Loader_GX which is really long-winded and frustrating (Especially when my brother's boots directly to his games menu!).

After allowing the HBC upgrade to take place on both Wii's, neither machine would start, I just got a white screen. Booting into PriiLoader (v0.4 r78) - if I click "Homebrew Channel" I get the error:

"Error autobooting HBC, maybe title not installed?"