Pretty sure my new acekard 2i is defective...

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by bwmat, Feb 26, 2011.

Feb 26, 2011
  1. bwmat
    OP

    Newcomer bwmat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    So I ordered an acekard 2i from lightake to replace my acekard 2 since I got a DSi XL. It took over a month to arrive, but free shipping, what can you do.

    The problem is that roms are randomly freezing on it. I tried reformatting the sd with panasonic formatter and reinstalling a clean version of akaio 1.8.5(and 1.8.5a), but that didn't help.

    The most damning evidence is that everything works fine when I use the exact same sd with the same files on my ak2 in my ds lite.

    any advice, or am I just screwed?
     


  2. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,720
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
  3. bwmat
    OP

    Newcomer bwmat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah, I don't know how that double posting happened, but I wasn't sure how to delete the other topic(if i'm even able)
     
  4. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,720
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It was reported already, someone will handle it later.
    Either way, I edited my post with some advice to help determine if your card is legit or not
     
  5. bwmat
    OP

    Newcomer bwmat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    is there a way of opening it up which will not break it?

    anyway, I did update it before trying. There was one strange thing though, when I used the .nds for updating which was supposed to be used on one ak2i, the thing just said "update canceled, reboot ds" right away before I pressed anything. This seems very suspicious now.

    I then used the .nds which was for updating multiple ak2i's, which worked, at least it seemed to update fine.
     
  6. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    In the AKAIO Start Menu, go More -> Help and tell us the "HW:"
    Take the card out of your DS and look at the contacts of the AceKard and tell us the colors (you should see a color near the edge of the card, and then another one towards the 'inside')
    Also/Alternatively, as Cat Boy said, check out the 1.4.1 updater and tell us what the ChipID and HWID it tells you is.

    If it's defective, have Lightake replace it. Now that the holidays are over it should get to you faster.


    You probably hit a button which would cancel it.
     
  7. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,720
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I have no idea
     
  8. ronfar23x

    Newcomer ronfar23x Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like it could also be either contact issues or maybe a slow microSD. I had the same problems with mine until I did the paper trick and invested in a higher class microSD.
     
  9. bwmat
    OP

    Newcomer bwmat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    HW 81
    the pcb is light green at the edge, and black farther in

    also, i'm sure I didn't hit any button to cancel as I tired several times, a few even by putting down the ds and starting the updater with the stylus.

    the card did(?) update, since it works on my dsi XL, but actually I never tried it on the dsi before updating it.
     
  10. dewback

    Member dewback GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    2nd for paper trick.

    I had a ak2i for a while and had no issue with it with my ds lite. just got a dsi xl and had issue with it freezing. all you need to do is slide some paper below the cards contacts to have them make contact with the dsi.
     
  11. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm... that is a bit odd... tho as others have said, it could be a contact issue. Try slipping a piece of paper under the contacts:
    Line up a piece of paper with the contacts and mark the length.
    Trim the paper to your marks and cut it 1~2" wide.
    Pull down the plastic 'bar' with your thumbnail and slide the paper in.
    If it works, you can take a razor and trip any excess off at the edge of the PCB so that the paper is hidden.

    As for the whole DSi thing, newer AceKards are coming 1.4.1 ready, so the update shouldn't change anything -- it's more to see if it's possible to update since fake AceKards usually don't have an updatable firmware in order to reduce costs.
     
  12. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Well one thing I know about my Acekard is that it has the contact issue yet it has never affected the loading of games, I don't think that's the problem.
     
  13. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    Rub your finger over the Acekard 2i sticker.

    Is there a noticable bump, or is it (relatively) smooth?
     
  14. bwmat
    OP

    Newcomer bwmat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    The paper trick didn't seem to work.

    there is a bump under the sticker
     
  15. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    Square bump?
     
  16. machomuu

    Member machomuu Drops by occasionally

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    8,437
    Location:
    The Courtroom
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, the newer models do not have the bump anymore. There is a small bump, but it's not visible and must be felt.
     
  17. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,895
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    I had a similar problem not too long ago. For troubleshooting purposes, try doing a complete format of your SD card with the formatting software on your OS (not Panasonic SD Formatter). Then try AKAIO 1.8.5.
     
  18. bwmat
    OP

    Newcomer bwmat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    no, more circular.

    I peeled back the sticker and I could see this moon-shape in the plastic around the bump.
     
  19. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    While I agree with you on this, it DID happen to affect loading on my R4 when WoodR4 first came out.
    The times when the Menu would boot it would often not load anything, sometimes even failing to fully load the menu. A slip of paper under the contacts and all has been fine.
     
  20. Evo.lve

    Member Evo.lve All that you could be.

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,786
    Location:
    Away from you.
    Country:
    Australia
    Ok, so it's a newish model.

    Full format then try running a game with AAP ON. The possibility that it's an EON chip isn't ruled out yet.
     

Share This Page