Premium FLashing Service for the regular R4

Discussion in 'Online Stores and Purchases' started by kieran, Apr 22, 2010.

Apr 22, 2010
  1. kieran
    OP

    kieran Newbie

    If I select the premium flashing service for the R4, will it be the latest WOOD firmware, or official firmware? Also, no need to warn me against buying an R4, I know what I am doing!

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,030
  3. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Lots of those homebrews don't even work. Like DSAim and DSweather.
     
  4. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Premium Flashing and Updating service is for carts that can be updated, not for carts that simply read firmware off of a microSD.

    For example, the Acekard 2i can be flashed to work on 1.4 DSi/XL.
    The CycloDS's firmware and be updated, although it will still require microSD files.
    The M3i Zero is usually received unflashed, non functioning and you must flash it yourself, Shoptemp can do it for you.

    The Premium Flashing and Updating service appears as an option for all flashcarts, but does not apply to all of them.
    If it does apply, you'll notice a slight price increase.
    If it does not, there will be no price difference.

    TLDR; R4DS can't take advantage of the Premium Flashing/Updating, it doesn't need it.
     
  5. DCG

    Member DCG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Location:
    Schiedam
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I dont think you can say for shure that the firmware is always up to date, becaus when they ship it might be possible that a new firmware is released one hour after the sending XD
     
  6. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,030
    it does actually if you read the service description page...
    if you select it, they'll just put the right system files on the cart and load up the homebrew pack.
    though that's defintely something that you should be able to do yourself.
    it's just if you're realllly lazy or realllly clueless! i guess

    Jakob95: i'll tell them to replace those by working ones [​IMG]
     
  7. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    As far as I know, Max Fierke at TeenDev.org is remaking DSAIM so his release of AIMDS should be soon, but there isn't another AIM client currently.
     
  8. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So they'll preload their bundled microSD's for you? That's awesome.

    I noticed they don't package Phidias or WordUp, though, those are two of my favourite homebrews!
     
  9. kieran
    OP

    kieran Newbie

    Thanks for your replies.
     

Share This Page