Preloader hack to turn on Wiimote?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Dteyn, Jun 24, 2009.

Jun 24, 2009
  1. Dteyn
    OP

    Member Dteyn GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    338
    Country:
    Canada
    I really like the Preloader hack the replaces the Health Warning with the "backmenu", but what I don't like is it seems to skip the initialization of the Wiimote, so when the channels list pops up, I need to hit a button every time to turn the Wiimote on before the pointer works. It's a minor inconvenience but I was wondering today, is it possible to make a preloader hack that turns on the Wiimote on startup?

    If such a hack exists already, that would be sweet, but I haven't seen it around. Anyone know if it's possible?
     
  2. ddp127

    Member ddp127 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Country:
    Netherlands
    doesn't exist, but iw would be nice, also to have a app that can activate the wii motes, so if you lost one, it could just make some noise [​IMG]
     
  3. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not possible. The Wiimote isn't turned on so it can't respond to any command from the Wii.
     
  4. ozguy

    Member ozguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Country:
    United States
    The Wiimotes are in sleep mode till you press a button, to preserve battery life.
    They cannot receive any commands from the wii if they are in sleep mode.
     
  5. IOwnAndPwnU

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    That's a shame. Oh well, we'll just have to be less lazy.
     
  6. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    It doesn't skip it. The health screen IS the initialization, as you need to press A so the WiiMote will connect. ;)
     
  7. SanGor

    Member SanGor Witchhunter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    993
    Country:
    United States
    too lazy to press a button? what's next want a bot to play mario for you?
     
  8. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    how about a hack to scratch your ass for you too?
     
  9. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    lol. only reason i would want this is because sometimes I'll move the classic controller's joystick just a second too early, and the directions will be messed up (i use it to move the pointer on the wii menu 90% of the time)
     

Share This Page