Preloader .29 + my tv = fail

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Inferior_Design, Jun 19, 2009.

Jun 19, 2009
  1. Inferior_Design
    OP

    Member Inferior_Design GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    probably at work
    Country:
    United States
    I've waited to install preloader. I thought it would be a good idea to wait until bootmii came out so that i could reverse any bricking. Now for some reason I can't install it, and I can't read why

    I have bootmii installed as boot 2 and IOS
    (sometimes bootmii doesn't autoboot if mplayer ran for a long time before powering off the wii. weird, no? )
    System menu 4.0

    I changed the name of the preloader dol to boot.dol
    put the dol in a folder named preloader in the apps folder of my sd card
    put the hacks.ini in the root of the sd card

    I ran the installer from HBC
    got the warning screen and pressed 1 on the wiimote
    Then I can't read why preloader fails to install because the tv screen cuts off all of the text except for the bottom 3 rows of pixels.

    Anybody know what I should do?
    Thanks
     
  2. fringle

    Newcomer fringle Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    Canada
    I can't read the message on my tv either. But basically says system files are corrupt. But you should be able to hold down reset while the wii is booting to get into preloader. From there you can boot the homebrew channel. Then you need to install cIOS60 with the wad manager then reinstall preloader again from what I remember. It's been a while since I've done it. I do know forsure that you need to install cIOS60 but don't remember if preloader the second time is necessary.
     
  3. Inferior_Design
    OP

    Member Inferior_Design GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    probably at work
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i tried holding reset on powerup and bootmii showed up instead of preloader
     
  4. madtamski

    Member madtamski GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Take your SD card out and Bootmii will not start [​IMG]
     
  5. Inferior_Design
    OP

    Member Inferior_Design GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    probably at work
    Country:
    United States
    I thought preloader needed the SD card. Well, I got nothin else, so I'll try it.
     
  6. Senbonzaku101

    Member Senbonzaku101 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United States
    You can also edit the configuration of Bootmii to autoboot HBC.
     
  7. Inferior_Design
    OP

    Member Inferior_Design GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    probably at work
    Country:
    United States
    I dl'd a different copy of the preloader installer and it worked with no problem at all. Not sure what was wrong with the one I got from WiiBrew...

    Thanks for all the help you guys
     

Share This Page