PPSSPP on Switch?? Any guides? Tactics Ogre?

aofelix

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2013
Messages
1,036
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,218
Country
I'd like to play Tactics Ogre on my Switch. I do have it on Vita but I'd rather be able to play it on my TV too.

Can PPSSPP play it on Switch? If so what do I need to do to get it working? Is performance good and can it use any HD texture packs etc? Much help appreciated please.
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,599
Trophies
2
XP
1,819
Country
United States
1653247364438.png


Doesn't seem like it runs very well according to this:

https://gbatemp.net/threads/can-switch-emulate-tactics-ogre-luct-from-psp.542498/
 
  • Like
Reactions: H1B1Esquire

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,599
Trophies
2
XP
1,819
Country
United States
If someone tells me how to install PPSSPP, I'm happy to give it a trial run :)

I have hekatae installed and always just used tinfoil so im a bit in the dark about homebrew
Download the standalone (better performance) here: https://ppsspp.org/downloads.html (scroll down to Switch)

Use 7zip or Winrar to uncompressed the .7z file

Inside will be a /switch/ directory…copy everything inside that /switch/ directory to the /switch/ directory on your Switch.

Hold down your right shoulder button (R) and keep holding it while you click on any game you have installed on the Main Switch menu…keep holding it until HBMenu pops up.

look for ppsspp and you should be all set.
 

aofelix

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2013
Messages
1,036
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,218
Country
Download the standalone (better performance) here: https://ppsspp.org/downloads.html (scroll down to Switch)

Use 7zip or Winrar to uncompressed the .7z file

Inside will be a /switch/ directory…copy everything inside that /switch/ directory to the /switch/ directory on your Switch.

Hold down your right shoulder button (R) and keep holding it while you click on any game you have installed on the Main Switch menu…keep holding it until HBMenu pops up.

look for ppsspp and you should be all set.
Latest version which is not hosted on ppsspp.org


thank u guys. where do i put the ROMs and texture packs?
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,599
Trophies
2
XP
1,819
Country
United States
thank u guys. where do i put the ROMs and texture packs?
I created a directory at the top of the sdcard called ‘PPSSPP and copied my .iso there.

selected it when prompted and it sees it here:

image.jpg
doesnt work. black screens galore and shut down. won't do a data install, straight up crashes on that. very crap.

i fiddled with the setting a bit, partially based on the tweet and then just some logic. I’m already using 1xpsp so there’s no lower I can go. It was working pretty well for a bit but it did end up crashing after a while. I guess the initial assessment still holds true…it’s a tough game for PPSSPP on Switch.
 

HalfScoper

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
Messages
190
Trophies
0
Age
82
XP
584
Country
Germany
Maybe the GLES2 release works better, although it might not be as uptodate as the normal one.
Nevertheless I also couldn't get Assassin's Creed: Bloodlines to run with either of the releases, so yeah some games apparently don't wanna run properly or at all on the Switch release, while on Android phones for example they do.
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,599
Trophies
2
XP
1,819
Country
United States
Runs fine
I thought so too. I was able to do the Data Install and everything.

Even recorded a video of the game play and was about to stop and post it but…

Run it until after they meet the knights. I was able to complete the first turn but after all the chit chat with the knights they walk off to the left of the screen, the screen goes blank for a bit, and then the game crashes.
Maybe the GLES2 release works better, although it might not be as uptodate as the normal one.
Nevertheless I also couldn't get Assassin's Creed: Bloodlines to run with either of the releases, so yeah some games apparently don't wanna run properly or at all on the Switch release, while on Android phones for example they do.
Will give it a shot. Might run it on Android on switch based on this (just to see).
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,599
Trophies
2
XP
1,819
Country
United States
The later release from m4wx.net, unfortunately, crashes on this particular game. I’m currently using the one from ppsspp.org (GL version) and I’ve made it to the second scene (after the knights) without any issues.

e: Didn’t have to change any settings. Was able to wait through Data Install…very choppy, but rest of game seems to play through just fine so far.

image.jpg
 

aofelix

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2013
Messages
1,036
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,218
Country
The later release from m4wx.net, unfortunately, crashes on this particular game. I’m currently using the one from ppsspp.org (GL version) and I’ve made it to the second scene (after the knights) without any issues.


Thank you mate. Can you link me the version you are using? I'll re-install and use that one.
 

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,599
Trophies
2
XP
1,819
Country
United States
Last edited by binkinator,

binkinator

Garfield’s Fitness Coach
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 29, 2021
Messages
2,599
Trophies
2
XP
1,819
Country
United States
thanaks mate.. for me it just boots to a black screen.
Crazy…I just made it past Almorica Castle and am headed to Tynemouth Hill.

image.jpg

Are you certain you cleared everything out from the old install?
Are you using title override to open hbmenu and start ppsspp?

I can’t think of anything different to do…
 

aofelix

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2013
Messages
1,036
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
1,218
Country
Crazy…I just made it past Almorica Castle and am headed to Tynemouth Hill.

View attachment 310977

Are you certain you cleared everything out from the old install?
Are you using title override to open hbmenu and start ppsspp?

I can’t think of anything different to do…
yup mate. just black screen on opening, going via title override. i give up lol..
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    UnreaLorenzo @ UnreaLorenzo: Good Afternoon