1. Sop

    OP Sop groovy dude lmao
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Country:
    Hey I recently got a used PC to restore, everything seems to be working except for the fact that there is no signal to the monitor.
     
  2. trumpet-205

    trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Too little info, system specification?
     
  3. Coconuts 500

    Coconuts 500 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    That could definitely be anything, but is most of the time a faulty motherboard, in my (quite large, I used to work with this sort of thing) experience. Best of all would be a loose connection somewhere. Disconnect everything (wires, cards, RAM sticks), then reconnect. Remove all unnecessary hardware. Go with just the motherboard, CPU, RAM, PSU and video card. Try another video card. Go with just one RAM stick - then another (if you have one).

    If it still doesn't work, it's almost certainly the motherboard (because the CPU is very, very unlikely to fail).
     
  4. CompassNorth

    CompassNorth Denko (´・ω・`)
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    540
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe it's the GPU? At least it always is in my case.
    Do you have one that you can use (something with a low power usage) to test?
     
  5. Sop

    OP Sop groovy dude lmao
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Country:
    dont have another video card
    i cant remove anything because it's a hp case put together with these stupid ass rivets
     
  6. trumpet-205

    trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Well do you know the model number of that HP? You still not providing much info about the system.

    In any case, start with the simple one. Remove CMOS battery on the motherboard. Wait for 10 minutes, then put it back. This'll rest the BIOS.
     
    PityOnU likes this.
  7. PityOnU

    PityOnU GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,163
    Country:
    United States
    This. Fixes a lot of shit.
     
  8. Sop

    OP Sop groovy dude lmao
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Country:
  9. Thanatos Telos

    Thanatos Telos random stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
  10. Sop

    OP Sop groovy dude lmao
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Country:
    pics of what? i included a picture of the cable
     
  11. Thanatos Telos

    Thanatos Telos random stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    I meant decent ones. Try to stay still while doing it and put some light in there.
    (No offense, but I honestly can't see anything.)
     
  12. Sop

    OP Sop groovy dude lmao
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Country:
    i can see fine. the reason the background is black is because it's on top of my keyboard.

    the black and white cable
     
  13. Isaac

    Isaac American
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    United States
    Fuzzy picture, try taking another, preferably less fuzzy picture.
     
  14. Thanatos Telos

    Thanatos Telos random stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    Sop Seconded. (AGAIN)
     
  15. Sop

    OP Sop groovy dude lmao
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Country:
    here is second pic
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Isaac

    Isaac American
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    320
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm, Find a spot to plug that in. I would look on the front of the computer, it may be the button that connect's the motherboard to the power button. (I had that problem once)
     
  17. Thanatos Telos

    Thanatos Telos random stuff
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    Looks around for a spot on the mobo for that. Isaac, the cables are soldered IIRC on the case's end. Also, his computer boots, but the GPU's not sending a signal.

    Sop Try disconnecting the GPU and boot with onboard video.
     
  18. Sop

    OP Sop groovy dude lmao
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Country:
    no onboard video :(
     
  19. Sly 3 4 me

    Sly 3 4 me GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    United States
    When my friend had attempted to air clean his computer, he removed a few simple components, and when he attempted to restart it, there was no display, sort of as you mention. I had racked my brain over it for a few hours before finding out the culprit. He had attempted to clean the CPU fan and heatsink, as it was impossible to do without removing it, but the CPU had such a large amount of old thermal paste that he did not attempt to remove it (He also did not have any new thermal paste). He had just stuck it back in the socket and put it back on. I eventually took everything out and it turns out that the CPU was put on incorrectly and it bent a few pins, so I fixed them by using a very tiny regular screwdriver, popped it back in, and it booted up normally. I'm not entirely sure why his motherboard did not POST or beep for a CPU error, as it simply ran the exhaust fan, CPU fan, and graphics card as if everything was alright, but did not display anything on the monitor after trying the on-board video aswell as the graphics card.

    I'm not saying this is the solution, but just something to look in to, as I found it interesting that the computer was acting as if nothing was wrong.

    His computer was an HP p9600 or p8600 or something..
     
  20. Sop

    OP Sop groovy dude lmao
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,244
    Country:
    cable is soldered onto the gpu
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - signal, Power,