Homebrew Discussion Post homebrew ideas, suggestions, requests here

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
17,033
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
11,385
Country
United States
Apparently we can run unsigned code via modding the KOTOR switch port. Does that mean we found an exploit for the lite and oled?
Responding to make sure nobody else gets the wrong idea but this isn't true. As I stated in the other thread, you misread someone else's post. They said "We have full access to run unsigned code so you could mod the game." What they are saying is that we have full access to run unsigned code on the Switch therefore it is possible to mod the game on the Switch. And to be extra clear, you need full access to run unsigned code in order to mod games in the first place, not the other way around. Putting mods on the SD card won't magically make them load; you need an exploit in the first place in order to make the game run them which we have on the Switch in the form of Fusee Gelee or the modchips. Lastly, you should choose your words a bit more carefully next time because your original response was removed for obvious reasons.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Slluxx

Slluxx

GBATemp Mayor
Developer
Joined
Jul 17, 2019
Messages
259
Trophies
0
XP
803
Country
Germany
Lol. Okay
You asked a question and I answered. What do you want? An explanation?

The Bluetooth chipset in the switch is not the same. The exploit doesn't exist. And even if it did, Nintendo learns from their misstakes and patches out every vulnerability they know so consoles do not get hacked.

Also, the switch has a different system/hardware. Even if the vulnerability exists, it's just an entry point and there is a lot more to do and exploit before you can execute any kind of code.
 
Last edited by Slluxx,

SkullHex2

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2017
Messages
177
Trophies
0
XP
1,005
Country
Italy
Any updates to a possible porting of The Simpsons: Hit & Run?
imho it would be a pity if no one was working on it, but I'm afraid so because there hasn't been any news ever since the source code was leaked
 

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
7,282
Trophies
1
XP
9,271
Country
United Kingdom
Any updates to a possible porting of The Simpsons: Hit & Run?
imho it would be a pity if no one was working on it, but I'm afraid so because there hasn't been any news ever since the source code was leaked
For it to be ported to the Switch, there would need to be a modernised version released first, as happened with Mario 64, the desktop port came out with support for modern rendering and compilers etc then it got ported to everything else. Hopefully this first stage wouldn't take as long with SH&R as with Mario 64, as it's not as old in the first place and not for such a weird unique platform as the N64.
I haven't heard anything about progress on such a thing yet, but I wouldn't be surprised if anyone working on it is keeping it pretty quiet until it's done, to avoid the inevitable Cease & Desists.
Fingers crossed.
 

Korvudae

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Dec 15, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
4
Country
United States
A way to play flash games without having to run linux or android? Maybe like a flash emulator like swf2js or something?
 

Slluxx

GBATemp Mayor
Developer
Joined
Jul 17, 2019
Messages
259
Trophies
0
XP
803
Country
Germany
A way to play flash games without having to run linux or android? Maybe like a flash emulator like swf2js or something?
flash is deprecated for a good reason and imo we shouldnt try to bring it back.

you can setup your own little website in your local network with swf2js and browse to that with the switchs internal webbrowser. but that one is very limited. i doubt its going to work.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Korvudae

LegzRwheelz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2018
Messages
115
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Scrolling here learning to mod my dishwasher
XP
165
Country
United States
The 3DS version of this thread was reasonably successful so I thought I would do the same thing here.
How about a way of launching the Mii maker so children don't need to go into the system menu. Children and adults alike love making countless Mii characters. I know that uLaunch was able to call on menu entries like Wi-Fi. Perhaps something like the album launching hbmenu but instead news app launching Mii maker by default and pressing r when launching actually launches news.

Note, I just got the switch about a week ago. I have been spending the whole time messaging around, modding, making mistakes learning how to recover from said mistakes. I have not tried making any Mii characters..I presume there's an endless amount that can be made like the Wii and Wii U.
 

SusumuNoDS

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 27, 2020
Messages
31
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
73
Country
Indonesia
How about a way of launching the Mii maker so children don't need to go into the system menu. Children and adults alike love making countless Mii characters. I know that uLaunch was able to call on menu entries like Wi-Fi. Perhaps something like the album launching hbmenu but instead news app launching Mii maker by default and pressing r when launching actually launches news.

Note, I just got the switch about a week ago. I have been spending the whole time messaging around, modding, making mistakes learning how to recover from said mistakes. I have not tried making any Mii characters..I presume there's an endless amount that can be made like the Wii and Wii U.
can you make a tutorial?
flash is deprecated for a good reason and imo we shouldnt try to bring it back.

you can setup your own little website in your local network with swf2js and browse to that with the switchs internal webbrowser. but that one is very limited. i doubt its going to work.
swf2js, should be a good reason
 

LegzRwheelz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2018
Messages
115
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Scrolling here learning to mod my dishwasher
XP
165
Country
United States
can you make a tutorial?

swf2js, should be a good reason
Oh I have no idea how this is done, I thought this is a suggestion/request thread. I think this would be a fairly desired feature as children and adults alike love making Miis. It's buried too deep and mistakes can absolutely happen when children get into system settings and if were in CFW mode, we wouldn't be using News anyway.
 

SusumuNoDS

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 27, 2020
Messages
31
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
73
Country
Indonesia
Oh I have no idea how this is done, I thought this is a suggestion/request thread. I think this would be a fairly desired feature as children and adults alike love making Miis. It's buried too deep and mistakes can absolutely happen when children get into system settings and if were in CFW mode, we wouldn't be using News anyway.
are you trying to make a formula? i will try to solve X
 
  • Like
Reactions: LegzRwheelz

LegzRwheelz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2018
Messages
115
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Scrolling here learning to mod my dishwasher
XP
165
Country
United States
Perhaps, I'm misunderstanding your question. What do you mean if I'm trying to make a formula? I apologize for my ignorance on the matter.

That being said, I have no idea how to code or do anything this technical or sophisticated. However, my idea with this is by default when you tap on news, it goes to Mii maker but if you hold say L and tap it, it goes to news instead. Am I even on the same page as you?
 

SusumuNoDS

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 27, 2020
Messages
31
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
73
Country
Indonesia
never mind. This "messaging around, modding, making mistakes learning how to recover from said mistakes" can be turned into a tutorial. but if you insist only for Mii maker no problem.
 

Chaosta

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2020
Messages
292
Trophies
0
XP
235
Country
United States
Perhaps, I'm misunderstanding your question. What do you mean if I'm trying to make a formula? I apologize for my ignorance on the matter.

That being said, I have no idea how to code or do anything this technical or sophisticated. However, my idea with this is by default when you tap on news, it goes to Mii maker but if you hold say L and tap it, it goes to news instead. Am I even on the same page as you?
hypothetically you could edit your override config in atmosphere/config/override_config.ini and point "program_id=" to the mii maker program id, assuming you can find it. the config says it supports up to 8 program-specific configurations, so maybe.
 
  • Like
Reactions: LegzRwheelz

LegzRwheelz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2018
Messages
115
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Scrolling here learning to mod my dishwasher
XP
165
Country
United States
hypothetically you could edit your override config in atmosphere/config/override_config.ini and point "program_id=" to the mii maker program id, assuming you can find it. the config says it supports up to 8 program-specific configurations, so maybe.
This is very handy. Thank you. Would you be able to tell me how I can obtain a title id? I can look into it as well
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Panzer_Baboon @ Panzer_Baboon: Let's all meet irl