Possilbe to run a computer OS or something like it on acekard?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by galaec, Jul 30, 2009.

  1. galaec
    OP

    Newcomer galaec Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I was wondering if it is possible to run something like a computer...or basically run .exe files directly or indirectly?
     
  2. Advi

    Member Advi GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,143
    Country:
    United States
    sorry, the DS lacks the power, or for that matter, the proper hardware in general to do that.
     
  3. VatoLoco

    Member VatoLoco Don't crush that dwarf, hand me the pliers.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    Ya Cant Get There From Here
    Country:
    United States
    There's DSLinux, which requires some skill/knowledge to operate,
    and there's also MiniVmac.
    I havent dived too terribly deep into either of these (though ive got a copy of each on my SD =P), so i dont know about .exe files
     
  4. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Impossible to run anything windows-based on the DS. There's DSLinux, but it's kinda useless, since the DS can just barely run the kernel.
     
  5. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    You can't run a computer OS on a DS..
     
  6. rommy667

    Member rommy667 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Location:
    Down the road around the corner
    Country:
    Ireland
    AKINO is the os [​IMG]
     
  7. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    He means something similar to windows which can open .exe executable files.
     
  8. Briankealing

    Member Briankealing GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    The AK2 will NEVER be able to run .exe's.

    However, any flashcart for the DSi lite 2 extreme ultra pro III will work.
     
  9. DaMummy

    Member DaMummy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United States
    will my ds run gta 4?
     
  10. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,192
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    you have to get the super R4 III ultimate upgrade special edition gold first
     
  11. PettingZoo

    Member PettingZoo yesss

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    in the trap
    Country:
    Australia
    But it doesn't have SDHC ):
     
  12. lincruste

    Member lincruste GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    france
    Country:
    Hi,
    Directly it is impossible, since Windows or DOS apps are written and compiled for a x86 instruction set (the DS's cpu is an ARM, with different instructions).
    The only way to execute a MS-type binary file (.com or .exe ) would be to load it trough an emulator like DosBOX, but no DosBOX build for DS is available as far as I know. Anyway the result could probably not run anything bigger than a 1980 text based app. I might be too pessimistic, however, but you've got the main idea.
     
  13. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As others have said, there's DSLinux which is, as memory serves, all text based. If you were wanting to emulate Windows 3.1 or something then there's no chance, not even on a DSi. Why? Simply not enough power. Even something with as much power as the iPhone 3GS takes up to 8 minutes to boot 3.1, and over 30 minutes to boot 95!
     
  14. Pendor

    Member Pendor GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    DSLinux is not entirely text based. The package includes a port of the Pixil suite, but i'm sure it needs a supported RAM pack in slot 2.
     
  15. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,192
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    lol PSP only take 15mins to boot win95 [​IMG]

    it can quickly boot Mac OS7 though and is usable but glitchy
     
  16. Ruud91

    Newcomer Ruud91 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    Netherlands
    lol it takes 3 min for windows 3.1 and 6 min for windows 95 to boot on my 3GS -.-' I think there is something wrong with yours ;P
     
  17. Da-Bomb1

    Member Da-Bomb1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    795
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Pixil is utterly useless running on the DS with DSLinux. There are many much more useful homebrew apps out there.
     
  18. Pendor

    Member Pendor GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    United States
    I've never said anything about usefulness. I just corrected a wrong statement.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh no! The iPhone virus got me! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page