Possibly bricked my wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mariobros1, Dec 18, 2009.

Dec 18, 2009

Possibly bricked my wii by mariobros1 at 5:49 PM (2,274 Views / 0 Likes) 34 replies

  1. mariobros1
    OP

    Member mariobros1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It was the one that was having the upside down HBC,
    I was trying to use it from a 12 volt power source and It was having problems with the video cables like red screens in Mario kart wii,
    I turned it off and changed cables and it wouldn't boot,
    I tryed it in mains power supply and it boots to a black screen and to turn it off I have to hold the power button for several seconds.
    Please help.
     


  2. rctgamer3

    Member rctgamer3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    Netherlands
    HBC upside-down = fakesigned IOS, nothing else. Install the IOS with the trucha bug still in it.
    Does BootMii/Waikiki/Maintenance mode work?
     
  3. mariobros1
    OP

    Member mariobros1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It was working until I changed the av leads.
     
  4. rctgamer3

    Member rctgamer3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Have you tried to use any other cables? Like the cable that came with the Wii (The Red/White and Yellow cables)?
     
  5. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Put the other A/V cables back and see if it works. You may have bad cables.

    Also, RCTGamer3's solution will fix the HBC if it's still upside down (assuming you get any video at all out of it again)
     
  6. mariobros1
    OP

    Member mariobros1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got to bootmii and the HBC which is still upside down,
    I tried to get to the system menu from bootmii but it always crashes suggesting that The SYSmenu is bricked.

    I am going to restore my nand backup and try and get the hacking guide done again.
     
  7. mariobros1
    OP

    Member mariobros1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It didn't work.
    I got it back to its previous working state when the menu used to work but it still gets a black screen when I try and access the system menu,
    The ioses and everything have been restored to what they were when it worked,
    I also think nintendo might have secretly updated it without my knowledge,
    When it was restoring more than half the blocks had been modified unlike last time when there were only around 10 modified.
     
  8. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Do you get to the health-screen at all (i.e. it goes black when you press A)? Or does the health screen never appear?

    If not, run DOP-IOS MOD from HBC and install IOS60 v6174, then System Menu 4.1.
     
  9. rctgamer3

    Member rctgamer3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It's againts Nintendo's rules (and the law?) to update without your permission.
    What is your Wii Menu version?
     
  10. mariobros1
    OP

    Member mariobros1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    4.2e

    Its either that or xzxero is giving out fakesigned/stub ioses.
     
  11. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    How did you update to 4.2E?

    Did you update through nintendo and then do his modify 4.2 guide?

    OR

    Did you use his update to 4.2 guide?


    If you used his update to 4.2 guide and installed the files in the wrong order or didn't install certain files then you bricked yourself and it's not xzxeros fault.It says right in the guide

    Really important stuff here! Do not skip or alter steps in any way!
     
  12. mariobros1
    OP

    Member mariobros1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I updated through the guide...
    I also didn't skip anything in it.

    I have hacked 2 other wiis successfully and had no problems with them,
    I also want to say this wii was previously hacked with extremely out of date files from around 2007 running 3.2e.
     
  13. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    If you can still get into the HBC then reinstall the system menu ios wad and then system menu wad.
     
  14. mariobros1
    OP

    Member mariobros1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just tried that but since I can't get to the menu I can't connect my wiimote and wad manager requires the wiimote.
     
  15. mariobros1
    OP

    Member mariobros1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Please help I really need to get this working.
     
  16. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have a gamecube controller?

    There is a GC controller compatible wad manager you would use.


    Also i thought that the controller should still sink up inside the HBC or even inside wad manager.

    So you can't even get into wad manager because of the sync issue?

    You could try using cboot2 if you have bootmii installed as boot2.
    This will make it autoboot into wad manager as soon the wii is turned on.

    Here is a link for it if you want to try it.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?of0vzi2ytmm
     
  17. mariobros1
    OP

    Member mariobros1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Where can I get the wad manager that can use gc controllers.
     
  18. mariobros1
    OP

    Member mariobros1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got it now.
    also when I tried to install system menu nus it went in well but I still just get a black screen.
     
  19. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
  20. mariobros1
    OP

    Member mariobros1 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I already found it but like I said before I installed what i needed to and I still just get a black screen.
     

Share This Page