Possible to run backups with chip, HDD, or swap?

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by link459, Nov 30, 2007.

Nov 30, 2007
  1. link459
    OP

    Member link459 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    Well, my friend gave me his PS2. [​IMG]

    Now I'm running low on money, and don't wanna solder 4832904 points, and the solderless solutions... oh god they're like $60.

    Also, I don't wanna bother with swapping a disc every single time I wanna play a game, so no swapdisc.

    Is there any way to get backups working without any of the three on a slim PS2? [​IMG]
     
  2. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. link459
    OP

    Member link459 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    I read something about the Independence exploit working with the PSTwo?
     
  4. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Doesn't work on the slim ps2.
     
  5. aZnXrAvEr

    Member aZnXrAvEr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    United States
    I would like to know how to run backups without modchip and swapdisc too on a slim ps2 because i want to buy one. If there isn't anyway possible, then I guess I might get the original ps2 and use it with a hard drive... [​IMG]
     
  6. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    you can try the new memor but its expensive
     
  7. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    No.

    You either use an HDD (very expensive),a Memor (pretty expensive) a modchip (very to mid expensive), or just suck it up, quit whining, and get a an excellent Magic Swap.
     
  8. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    I thought Swap Magic worked on the Slim PSTwo. It's suppose to be easier considering the Slim comes with a flip top, all you'd have to do is stuff a wad of paper into a corner to keep the system from knowing you opened the lid.
     
  9. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    Yes, the swap magic is cheap, and works extremely well. Hell, it may be a little bothersome to swap discs whenever you want to play, but for the price it costs and the awesome service it provides, it's the best solution.
     
  10. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    or you can give the ps2 to me cuase my ps2 blew up last week lol
     
  11. aZnXrAvEr

    Member aZnXrAvEr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have any recommended sites for me to buy Swap Magic?
     
  12. War

    Member War Take it easy~

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,409
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    Japan
    I bought mine from GoCyberShop. Not that expensive by itself, but shipping is murder.

    32.99 for my Swap Magic 3.6 and Flip Top, I believe.

    Almso 12 bucks for shipping o-o
     
  13. aZnXrAvEr

    Member aZnXrAvEr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    United States
    Wah, I would still need to get a flip top for a slim pstwo that already has a flip top?? lol.
     
  14. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,108
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No you just have to hold down the switches that tell it the lid is open on a slimline. You can either buy some plastic cap things to hold them down , or just tape em.
     
  15. HazeyTheLazy

    Banned HazeyTheLazy Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    United States
    The best thing to hold the lid down is to manipulate a pen spring or carberator spring if u got one... I'd go to ACE hardware for the PERFECT spring!
     
  16. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page