1. Delta517

    OP Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,332
    Country:
    Norway
    Is it possible to fix artifacts on a Wii yourself?
     
  2. kyle007

    kyle007 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    maybe? i dont know if you can buy a new video card for the wii lol look it up on sites that have wii repair parts.If you could find a new video card for it you should theoretically be able to fix it yourself.
     
  3. longtom1

    longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Country:
    Don't think so think it's a send to Nintendo only repair
     
  4. kyle007

    kyle007 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i think so too [​IMG] but i mean if you can get a wii with a broken disc drive or something off ebay you can swap the video cards i'd imagine, since artifacts are just a failing video card.Unless the video card is integrated onto the motherboard im pretty sure its definitely possible but yeah just sent it to the big N
     
  5. longtom1

    longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Country:
    I think it's part of the main board(soldered to it)
     
  6. kyle007

    kyle007 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    thats what i meant by integrated sorry for my horrible wording pretty tired lol. Well you can UNsolder things, but yeah as suggested just send it to nintendo, the worst that could happen is they give you a new dvd drive as well, that doesnt allow playing of burnt discs.
     
  7. techboy

    techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Country:
    United States
    If it's out of warranty, take the drive out before sending it in. If they give you a wii with the D3-2 drive, just replace it with the old one.

    The bad news you'll likely get a wii with a fixed boot1...
     
  8. FenrirWolf

    FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,347
    Country:
    United States
    Ninty probably wouldn't approve of a Wii with a missing drive though. They'd probably charge on account of the console being physically modified.
     
  9. Holdercj

    Holdercj Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    its out of warranty and his property. Who cares if it doesn't have a drive. He would be paying to replace a vid card only.
     
  10. techboy

    techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Country:
    United States
    That's why I said "if its out of warranty"...he's gonna get charged anyway.

    Also, I do know a friend who was lucky. He sent a wii in under warranty with no drive. Not only was the drive missing, it was loaded with brew and bannerbricked (didn't know installing an SM removed preloader...). They sent him a new wii for free.
     
  11. resincake

    resincake GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    The Wii definately uses a Gfx Chip on the Mobo, and not a card.

    You could just simply buy a replacement mobo, search ebay or google, you'll find one, thet aren't too expensive.
     
  12. coursemyhorse

    coursemyhorse Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    I wondered the same thing a month or so ago when mine developed artifacts. The Wii GPU is integrated on the main board and cannot be "fixed" as such. You would need a new motherboard for it. Since this is the most significant part of the internal components of a Wii, it practically writes off your Wii. However...my Wii was out of warranty by a few months. I decided to setup an RMA with Nintendo and they basically swapped out my Wii for a new one, at a cost of £28 (I'm in the UK).
     
  13. Delta517

    OP Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,332
    Country:
    Norway
    So you think if I make my Wii a virgin again, I can then get a new Wii from Nintendo?

    I have opened my Wii to clean the lens, my warranty has run out and have a lot of homebrew on it.
     
  14. coursemyhorse

    coursemyhorse Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    My Wii had been opened as I ran a modchip. I opened it up and removed the modchip. Put it back together and RMA'd it. I didn't bother trying to hide the fact I had opened it by using the replacement white pads/feet. Anyone that knows what to look for could have fairly easily seen that it had been opened. Whether or not they noticed is irrelevant now really. You can log it all online in the UK to get it "repaired".

    They state that the costs for repairs normally range from £28 to £75 but are not normally in the upper range unless they are broke as a result of misuse. i.e. Say it turns up bricked and they detect it had homebrew, or the case had clearly been smashed up physically. I included a note on mine stating the problem with artifacts and where to look for them. I got a new Wii back, although curiously the MAC address on the WLAN was the same as my old one, meaning either they could re-use some parts from your Wii you send in, or they set the WLAN up helpfully to use the same mac as my old one with some tool.

    I would make it as Virgin as you can and send it in stating the fault. Obviously be prepared to pay £28 and it will take approx 2 weeks start to finish.
     
  15. Delta517

    OP Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,332
    Country:
    Norway
    If I get a new Wii with a D3-2 drive, will the USB loaders work to play back ups?
     
  16. techboy

    techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Country:
    United States
  17. tj_cool

    tj_cool Site dev
    Supervisor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10,046
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yes

    edit: damn [​IMG]
     
  18. kyle007

    kyle007 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    well then shouldnt he be able to fix it? i thought you could buy new mainboards for the wii online? they're only like $100-ish
     
  19. longtom1

    longtom1 Keep an eye on my posts cause I quick edit frequen
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,641
    Country:
    is more than a free reconditioned wii from ninty if it's a launch day wii
     
  20. Delta517

    OP Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,332
    Country:
    Norway
    So you don't think I will need to pay so much to get it fixed, even if the warrenty has been broken?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - artifacts, Possible, yourself