Possible that Cyclo Evo will be updated to work with DSi?

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by godstriker8, Feb 12, 2010.

  1. godstriker8
    OP

    Member godstriker8 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    Canada
    Just wondering if I should get a Cyclo Evolution, since I plan on selling my DS Lite soon, I don't wanna have to buy a new cart within at least 3-4 months. SO is it possible for the Evo to get updated to work with DSi via firmware?
     


  2. Gariscus

    Member Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Australia
    Not possible. Team Cyclops will have to create a new flashcart.
     
  3. Normmatt

    Member Normmatt Former AKAIO Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,135
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Its entirely possible to update it for DSi firmware 1.3 and below
     
  4. Gariscus

    Member Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    Australia
    I stand corrected. 99% of the posts on Team Cyclops Forums regarding it say otherwise however. But now that I think about it... The CycloDS Evolution's firmware is stored on the actual cart so... [​IMG]

    I'm also going by what one of the mods on Team Cyclops Forums told me. He said that Team Cyclops had hinted to him that they'd have to make a new cart. Later on he posted that TC would have to make a new flashcart.
     
  5. sfg

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    They did release a video showing it working (partially) on a DSi, though.

    If it could have been made to work, I wonder why they didn't since they also haven't released another cart. Now it would be useless with the 1.4 update since they need a new cart but they could have gotten some extra sales in the meantime...
     
  6. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That was the CycloDSi
     
  7. connor_walsh

    Member connor_walsh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    they probally cud do it through firmware but might instead release a new cart to get more sales [​IMG] and implement better features to compete with supercard
     
  8. Chrono_Tata

    Member Chrono_Tata GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Country:
    Thailand
    We don't know that. It could have been a hacked DSi. TC didn't say anything apart from getting it to work in a "lab condition".

    In any case, the DSi compatible CycloDS has probably suffered the same fate as the GUI overhurl; vapour.
     
  9. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    No, they can't update the current CycloDS to support DSi. The bootstrap is not able to be updated on the CycloDS. At least, that's what I read at TC forums one day. Makes sense as they obviously haven't already made it work on DSi, which I'm sure they would have if they could.

    My guess as to why they never released a DSi cart is that they want a fully functioning DSi mode hack first. They don't want to make a half-assed cart....you know, where it works in the DSi, but doesn't actually unlock DSi mode....like all the "i" carts currently do. When/if they release one, it will make FULL use of the DSi. Like I said, that's my guess as to what's going on with them.
     
  10. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    I read that alot of members from the team quit so they cannot make a dsi cart but will still try to support the normal cyclo
     
  11. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I kinda wish they told us how they got it working, although that might've hindered their R&D secrets.

    Where did you hear that?
     
  12. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States

    REALLY? I never saw that mentioned anywhere. Hmm....could go a long way to explaining why that one vid they had of a CycloDS working on a DSi never blossomed into anything.....same with the "new GUI" they used to talk about.
     
  13. sfg

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    Rockstar is 14 years old...
     
  14. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    So what? [​IMG]


    I saw it in a thread here, some guy emailed the team and quoted the response.
     
  15. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Wtf? What's your point?
     
  16. sfg

    Member sfg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    My God, I stirred the treehouse.

    I saw in about a thousand threads here that AKAIO is dead. Must be more reliable, because you saw that in only one thread.
     
  17. haflore

    Member haflore aeternaliter fluxa

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,213
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, actually. How does it matter how old he is? It doesn't make his info any less reliable. I believe him.
     
  18. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    whatever guys im just posting what i read im not sure about it
     
  19. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Someone could always go over to TC forums and ask if the info is valid. Personally, I don't care about a new GUI or DSi compatibility, so it's moot to me.....unless they stop supporting the CycloDS with new FW updates, which is the only thing I care about.
     
  20. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They said it was the DSi cart prototype
     

Share This Page