Possible defective Wiikey batch?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Fazered, Mar 16, 2007.

Mar 16, 2007
  1. Fazered
    OP

    Newcomer Fazered Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It may be coincidence but a number of people with non-working Wiikeys have the same distinctive mark on the chip. Could it be a defective batch? Please could people check their non-working chips to see if they to have the problems but also is there anyone who has the mark but their chip works.

    Here's mine:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. farmer99

    Newcomer farmer99 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    does ur setup disk work but none of ur backups work? mine looks like urs and i got it at foundmy.com
     
  3. Fazered
    OP

    Newcomer Fazered Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No that's the disc I tested most. Nothing boots. 5 different types of media and various burn settings and software.
     
  4. Perplexer

    Member Perplexer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    145
    Country:
    United States
    Which mark on the chip are you talking about?

    I think Wiikey v2 should have a smt LED to assist with troubleshooting.
     
  5. MC DUI

    Member MC DUI GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Maybe it's just your lighting in the photo but your Wiikey looks as though it is a light blue colour, my Wiikey is a dark blue colour?

    Can't tell you if mine works yet or not because it is off getting installed today!
     
  6. Romps

    Newcomer Romps Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats just where they removed the chip markings in the factory
    All the wiikey's i have fitted have been same
    And ive allso had a DOA wiikey
    But all the rest have worked...

    Regards
    Romps
     
  7. GamerzInc

    Member GamerzInc GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Memphis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    As posted on maxconsole, I believed it was said he soldered point #2 in the wrong spot.
     
  8. avatarx

    Newcomer avatarx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    United States
  9. Fazered
    OP

    Newcomer Fazered Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Correct!

    I had it on that point before but put it on the wrong one when I reinstalled fretting because it didn't work. Fool!

    going back to wario, it's awesome.
     
  10. alucard77

    Member alucard77 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    465
    Country:
    United States
    Thank god, I was starting to think their were bad batches.
     
  11. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the new batch indeed dont have the markings removed, you can just read the codes off of them, guess it was too much work to burn the title of all these chips in the factory.

    anyway, i installed 5 wiikeys as posted on your picture, including one in my own wii, and they all work perfect!
     

Share This Page