1. grcd

    OP grcd GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    So, I bought this second hand Switch which the previous owner was very hush-hush about what he did to. All he said was that it had a "defect" and was sold "as-is" in broken condition. I was expecting a device with a hardware fault, but it functions perfectly fine.... except that the OS won't load at all. It cannot even get into recovery/maintenance mode. However, RCM works fine and I can send payloads and go into Hekate. I checked the burnt fuse count, and it seems to have been / or be on 10.0.x.

    Is this a perma-brick? If so, how can I identify this? If it is a perma brick, is Lakka the only thing I can run on it?
     
  2. crazy_p

    crazy_p GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    485
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I assume you have no Backups, if so follow this Guide.
     
  3. magico29

    magico29 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    1,523
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure to learn what you gonna do, also if any step fails, do not move to next step.
    Also do no forget to backup all files(Rawnand.bin,boot0,boot1,sysnand via hekate) just in case you don't have them before try anything.
     
    Last edited by magico29, Jun 17, 2020
  4. grcd

    OP grcd GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    Yes. No backups. That sounds hopeful. As magico29 said, I will take full back-ups first. So your recommendation is to install a firmware in accordance with the fuse count and hope for the best?

    Failing that, if it doesn't help, what are my other options?
     
  5. scandal_uk

    scandal_uk Not Really There
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Messages:
    319
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you run into more problems, post back here and hopefully we can help diagnose any errors you run into.
     
  6. magico29

    magico29 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    1,523
    Country:
    United States
    Get rawnand.bin and rest of files backups first, as we said. If not, i don't recommend you do any process.
     
    scandal_uk likes this.
  7. grcd

    OP grcd GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    Of course! I'll do that first thing. (I always do that first thing anyway!)
     
  8. magico29

    magico29 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    1,523
    Country:
    United States
    As soon as finished come back and post.
     
  9. grcd

    OP grcd GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
  10. grcd

    OP grcd GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    Hi everyone, I wanted to post an update on this. I tried to follow the process. The Switch booted, and at first I was elated. However, the moment it entered into sleep mode the Switch threw an error (Error code: 2001-0114). Now it is stuck on the logo once again.

    EDIT: I have found a way to get the Switch to boot consistently. If I boot Hekate, chain the Lockpick_RCM.bin payload and then use the option from there to boot into the system then it will load fine. The moment it enter sleep mode, it will throw the same error and won't be able to boot normally.

    The other interesting thing I found is that the console is unable to find any online networks whatsoever. Could it be that the WiFi module has a problem?
     
    Last edited by grcd, Sep 9, 2020
  11. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,578
    Country:
    United States
    Most likely it needs to be replaced.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Possible, displays, Hekate