Homebrew Suggestion Porting FBI to the Switch?(good or bad idea)

NoNAND

Give me back my legions!
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,241
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
XP
4,710
Country
Albania
Now now don't yell at me
Would it be nice to have FBI on the switch too
Yeah sure we have tinfoil but fbi is the best game/dlc/update installer out there
I know that fbi installs cias only but that can be changed right.
Why don't you make fbi cross platform like cbeckpoint for example
Is it possible to port FBI to the switch and edit it to install nsps instead of cias
 

Meepers55

Flintstones Regular
Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2018
Messages
318
Trophies
0
XP
927
Country
United States
I see no reason to really port FBI to Switch. It should stay on what it was designed for. However, it would be nice to have a version of tinfoil with some clean GUI and perhaps a file manager.
 

gnmmarechal

Well-Known Member
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
5,904
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
https://gs2012.xyz
Website
gs2012.xyz
XP
4,985
Country
Portugal
Erm.... I don't think there's any point to that. At most, set up a Switch TitleDB-like thing and add support for it to existing NSP installers, or add some of the other stuff it had, like a pretty UI and such. It's not like it matters much. Not to me anyway.
 
Last edited by gnmmarechal,

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,510
Trophies
0
XP
7,309
Country
Tuvalu
it's not a bad idea, it's probably faster to port FBI to switch than to create a similar looking and functioning app from scratch.
(fbi is more than just the one function of 'install game')
people love to reinvent the wheel for some reason.

Bad because it can't be done because they are entirely different systems. /thread
do you know how porting or programming even works? when you have the source (it's on github), you can do things like this.
porting isn't necessarily easy or fast, it can involve a lot of work. but of course it can be done!
you are not a mod, you cannot close threads lol
 
Last edited by cearp,

Olmectron

Well-Known Member
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
2,445
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
A game
XP
2,807
Country
Mexico
We already have FBI on the Switch; that's basically what Tinfoil is designed to be (they're both title managers).
Yes.

But I guess the question has more to do about porting the same GUI the lastest versions of FBI use, doesn't it?

Not sure if Tinfoil already has an easy looking GUI.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

Draxzelex

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
15,931
Trophies
1
Age
27
Location
New York City
XP
10,978
Country
United States
Yes.

But I guess the question has more to do about porting the same GUI the lastest versions of FBI use, doesn't it?

Not sure if Tinfoil already has an easy looking GUI.
Adubbz already said he's going to start work on the UI since most of the basic functionality is there already.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Olmectron

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,510
Trophies
0
XP
7,309
Country
Tuvalu
I think that would be cool, if nothing else for the nostalgia. Afaik all FBI features could be replicated on the switch
I was thinking how young does one have to be to get feelings of nostalgia from FBI (because it's not exactly a long time ago)... then I saw your age on your profile, it makes sense :D
(no offense!)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Subtle Demise
D

Deleted-351540

Guest
I was thinking how young does one have to be to get feelings of nostalgia from FBI (because it's not exactly a long time ago)... then I saw your age on your profile, it makes sense :D
(no offense!)
It's a pretty clear case of "username checks out" lol
 
  • Like
Reactions: Quantumcat

radicalwookie

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2018
Messages
510
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
891
Country
United States
Now now don't yell at me
Would it be nice to have FBI on the switch too
Yeah sure we have tinfoil but fbi is the best game/dlc/update installer out there
I know that fbi installs cias only but that can be changed right.
Why don't you make fbi cross platform like cbeckpoint for example
Is it possible to port FBI to the switch and edit it to install nsps instead of cias

Do you honestly think you can ''port'' a cia installer homebrew from 3ds to switch?
 

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,510
Trophies
0
XP
7,309
Country
Tuvalu
Do you honestly think you can ''port'' a cia installer homebrew from 3ds to switch?
do you honestly think that's it's impossible for the port to install nsp files instead of cia files?

port doesn't have to mean 100% identical. (and if it does in some tech dictionary, it's obviously not what the OP intends)
just reuse the program, replacing all the 3ds specific stuff with switch stuff.
easier said than done sure, but that's programming, no one said it's easy.
but like i said above, it would be faster than rewriting a fbi clone from scratch. (as long as the code base is good, i heard compliments about steveice's code so i guess it's fine)
 
Last edited by cearp,
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

radicalwookie

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2018
Messages
510
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
891
Country
United States
do you honestly think that's it's impossible for the port to install nsp files instead of cia files?

port doesn't have to mean 100% identical. (and if it does in some tech dictionary, it's obviously not what the OP intends)
just reuse the program, replacing all the 3ds specific stuff with switch stuff.
easier said than done sure, but that's programming, no one said it's easy.
but like i said above, it would be faster than rewriting a fbi clone from scratch. (as long as the code base is good, i heard compliments about steveice's code so i guess it's fine)
In my dictionary port means copy paste from original console to targeted console.
Also don't you think it would be easier to just make it from scratch? You are the dev not me, so Im legit wondering.
 

cearp

瓜老外
Developer
Joined
May 26, 2008
Messages
8,510
Trophies
0
XP
7,309
Country
Tuvalu
In my dictionary port means copy paste from original console to targeted console.
Also don't you think it would be easier to just make it from scratch? You are the dev not me, so Im legit wondering.
It's not as simple as copy and paste, sometimes it could be pretty easy.
I have been in the process of porting an old game to current gen, modernizing it.
Not just a port but a whole improvement.
It would have taken me much much longer if I had to write all the game logic myself!

Reusing FBI for its menu and base, not a dumb idea like some people in this thread think.
Reusing the cia installation code? Yeah of course not. :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Olmectron

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
    IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982: Thank you.