Pop-up that pop-up for no reason.

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by GoodKupo, May 31, 2004.

May 31, 2004
  1. GoodKupo
    OP

    Member GoodKupo It Was Me!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    735
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    These dam pop-up keep showing up evan if my broser close.I already scan for spyware.Still get these annyoing pup-upsIm using Adaware.
     
  2. elfgirl_45

    Member elfgirl_45 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Could be from anything you recently installed... I know I had BearShare for a while and it did that, so I just uninstalled it and the ad crap to go with it. Might wanna think back if you've installed anything like this or anything shady lately.
     
  3. GoodKupo
    OP

    Member GoodKupo It Was Me!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    735
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    No, i didnt install anything lately.Also im smart enough you know if a program contain spyway.It ussaly said on it site or if it said in the "Custon Install" option.I also clean my cookies at a daily basic.
     
  4. norberto

    Member norberto GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    128
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Country:
    United States
    try spysweeper. it could help. im pretty sure you have installed something like elfgirl_45 said. with the kind of spelling and grammer you have I doubt your "SMART ENOUGH" [​IMG]
     
  5. Chaka

    Newcomer Chaka Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Canada
  6. Chakal

    Member Chakal GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    342
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Quebec!
    Country:
    Canada
    Spybot should get those bad things off of your precious computer [​IMG]

    (We almost got the same name, Chaka....)
     
  7. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    I hate fucking popups!!!
     
  8. KiVan

    Former Staff KiVan Hooray! Member n# 1!!!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    2,256
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    I used Ad-aware even if I my computer wasn't victim of any spyware symptoms...

    the program caught 600+ spywares anyway :wtf:
     
  9. 754boy

    Banned 754boy :D

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,469
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    WHOA!! 600 in one scan.....that's a hell of alotta spyware [​IMG]
     
  10. phuzzz

    Former Staff phuzzz Hooha!

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,258
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Country:
    United States
    I've been told to use both Adaware and Spybot. By themselves, they don't get all of the spyware, but I'm told together they get most of it.
     
  11. killer bunny

    Member killer bunny GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Messages:
    169
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    The best way to not getting vira or spyware is to use another browser then IE. 95% of the shit that floats aroun out on the interweb is taking advantage of the flaws in IE.
     
  12. Tdon

    Member Tdon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    275
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Utrecht
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I just started using firefox, it has a pop-up blocker of it's own,
    I think I can get used to firefox, It's really cool [​IMG]
     
  13. fireworkz

    Member fireworkz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    133
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi.
    I used to use Adaware but recently switched to Pest Patrol This works wonders. But beware what you delete. Keep it on Quarantine for a while, else you screw up your Registry / Windows.
    Take Care,
    Fireworkz
    [​IMG]
     
  14. The Teej

    Former Staff The Teej Also known as The Tjalian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,210
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just for future reference's sake, what other browsers are there bar IE?
     
  15. Puck The Joker

    Banned Puck The Joker Puck, The Arrogant Phuck

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,855
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Avalon
    Country:
    Firefox. Visit www.mozilla.org and download it. The newest version is .9, but it doesn't have as much compatibility as version .8 has.
     
  16. deduce

    Member deduce GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    341
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Country:
    United States
    I had this problem awhile ago.

    If you're getting pop ups when your browser is closed then it isn't related to you internet browser but to your Windows OS, your internet connection, and some program that's open (such as Kazaa). I'm just assuming right now that you have Windows XP because that's were I had my problem. The pop up stems from a program built into Windows XP that is turned on by default when Windows XP is first installed. As long as you're connected online you will keep getting these "pop ups". In order to get rid of these pop ups you'll need to turn off the Messenger Services (not to be confused with MSN Messenger [​IMG]). There are details about how to turn the service off and also some more information about what turning Messenger Services off does: http://www.opentechsupport.net/forums/arch...ic/11211-1.html
    I think these pop ups only come out when you're running a program that is sending them out. I think Kazaa use to do this at one point that is why I keep refering to it. I'm sure other programs are using this pop up method so you may need to do some deducing work of your own to find the source program. [​IMG]


    I hope this helps in getting rid of the pop ups.
     
  17. G.O.D

    Member G.O.D GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    955
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    the first time i used it i had 1400 then a week later i had 800 >.>
     
  18. The Teej

    Former Staff The Teej Also known as The Tjalian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,210
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank You!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...