1. Th3Alic3

    Th3Alic3 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2020
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Canada
    Hold "L" when launching the game to load the game without ANY cheats. Enable them MANUALLY with EdiZon.

    Right now that's the only way to launch the games anyways. So, it just proves my point.

    Incorrect, the majority of the RAM is cycled everytime you leave an area/city/route in the game to another. Or enter a building.
     
    Last edited by Th3Alic3, Jan 10, 2020
  2. Zaintne

    Zaintne Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Thats what i meant, like i said i remember reading it somewhere awhile back.
     
  3. OkazakiTheOtaku

    OkazakiTheOtaku no thanks, I don't want a custom title
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1,389
    Country:
    Japan
    Okay, but in that case, closing and re-opening the game would do as @Th3Alic3 said and fix it.
    That doesn't mean there isn't a use-case for the "off" code though.
     
  4. Th3Alic3

    Th3Alic3 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2020
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Canada
    No, I am very much correct. You should not be running any game with an assortment of codes you are NOT needing on. It's just bad for the game. This runs true for any application or game regardless of the platform. You don't just want pointless memory edits running all the time.

    The way the Pokemon games are designed. Every time you leave an area the majority of it clears and starts fresh.

    LAZINESS is NOT a reason to have an off-code. Being too lazy in the game to fly to another area AFTER you manually turn off a code is NOT a justifiable reason for anything more than laziness. You are already cheating. What's a few more seconds of your time.
     
    Last edited by Th3Alic3, Jan 10, 2020
  5. Zaintne

    Zaintne Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    @Th3Alic3, those are actually, max item after obtaining, not opening so you dont have to use PKHeX
     
  6. Nico2001

    Nico2001 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    I've been messing around with some cheats such as hold R for purple beam dens or walk trough walls or max watts, and the game was working fine. I saved then turned it off, and now when I try to play it freezes, the music plays on but I cant move or do anything (to be more specific: the intro loads fine but after pressing continue, it loads the map, plays the music but I cant move or open any menus, however the switch doesnt crash as i can go back to the home menu or raise/lower the volume). Is someone else having the same problem?My best guess ats to why the game might not be working is because I enabled the cheat to walk through walls and suddenly unlocked the bicycle that allowed me to walk over the water, and since I ve bearly beat the 1st gym the game might be crashing as im not suppossed to have unlocked the bicycle yet? Im also using latest ver atmosphere 0.10.2 and kosmos 15
     
    Last edited by Nico2001, Jan 10, 2020
  7. OkazakiTheOtaku

    OkazakiTheOtaku no thanks, I don't want a custom title
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1,389
    Country:
    Japan
    Okay, but, again, if you close and re-open the game (or leave the area you're in) some things reset, such as your encounter chain. In this case, having an "off" code would prevent breaking the chain.
     
    Ningyoplug and r0tten1 like this.
  8. Th3Alic3

    Th3Alic3 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2020
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Canada
    Explain to me WHAT memory is still active when you close the game. The entire game has been cleared from the Nintendo Switches RAM. (I would love to hear this ~ as someone with post-secondary education in video game development and design.)

    Explain to me how the application is still running once the console has cleared the application from memory?
     
  9. OkazakiTheOtaku

    OkazakiTheOtaku no thanks, I don't want a custom title
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1,389
    Country:
    Japan
    I seriously don't know what you're talking about. Read my posts again. You're not understanding what I'm saying.
     
    Ningyoplug likes this.
  10. Th3Alic3

    Th3Alic3 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2020
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Canada
    You all are stating there is a REASON for the "OFF" codes. I am stating the ONLY REASON is laziness on the USER's end. That's it.

    End of story.
     
  11. OkazakiTheOtaku

    OkazakiTheOtaku no thanks, I don't want a custom title
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1,389
    Country:
    Japan
    You're just not using your imagination and thinking of any scenario that isn't useful to you personally.

    When the game is closed all memory of the game is cleared from RAM. Correct. No one is disputing that.

    But the use-case for the "off" code is as follows:
    Let's say I'm chaining for a shiny Combee and I'm at chain #500. I get frustrated and go "screw this" and turn on an always-shiny code to encounter a shiny Combee.
    Then, I feel bad and think, "shoot, I don't want ALL of the Combees I find to be shiny, but if I close the game to undo the cheat code and wipe it from memory, my 500+ chain will break."
    In this case, a code to revert the first one is necessary.

    No one made you the arbitrator of what is a useful code and what isn't.
     
    Sunrizeadamz, Ningyoplug and crazy_p like this.
  12. dsrules

    dsrules GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,813
    Country:
    any asm code could be enable 1 time then disable after and there is no harm or glitch to have them always enabled
    also, I don't understand why people would want to reboot the game to turn off cheats instead of doing it while playing, it is a waste of time
     
    Last edited by dsrules, Jan 10, 2020
    Ningyoplug and crazy_p like this.
  13. r0tten1

    r0tten1 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    United States
    Who cares? Use them or don’t..
     
    Ningyoplug likes this.
  14. Th3Alic3

    Th3Alic3 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2020
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Canada
  15. patjenova

    patjenova GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2018
    Messages:
    1,130
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ningyoplug likes this.
  16. Th3Alic3

    Th3Alic3 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2020
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Canada
    This entire thread has v1.0.0 cheats and a lot of unrelated discussion about PKHeX.
    It's just cleaner having the opening topic show codes relevant.

    This thread is over 182 pages already.

    Each new version should get its own thread for cheat codes as we will likely see several new updates this year alone. (One per DLC & Pokemon Home minimum!)
     
    Last edited by Th3Alic3, Jan 10, 2020
  17. Zaintne

    Zaintne Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone tested if you can battle and/or trade locally with someone on version 1.1.0 and youre on 1.0.0? I thinking it wont work but dont have a second switch to test it out. Thanks in advanced.
     
  18. araraq

    araraq Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    is there a cheat or any other way for getting all three starters? or can i trade them offline?
     
    Last edited by araraq, Jan 10, 2020
  19. Zaintne

    Zaintne Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    check my posts, i made a mod to the game where you can get all three starters on route 1 and then you can breed it to make them legal. Already checked, the mod still works with 1.1.0
     
  20. Qaaz

    Qaaz Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Greece
    You can’t. Already tried and I’m searching ho to update it without getting banned
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Pokemon, Shield, Cheats