Pokemon Leaf Green

Discussion in 'GBA - Console and Game Discussions, Help and Tips' started by sanoblue, Nov 15, 2007.

Nov 15, 2007

Pokemon Leaf Green by sanoblue at 8:32 AM (2,593 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. sanoblue
    OP

    Member sanoblue The Fuzzy Blue Woof!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    I have already patched it using the GBAta tool... but for some reason i still get the "file corrupt, reverting to last save"

    but it reverts to the save i actually made... wondering if i did something wrong or if its not fully patched

    any idea's?

    using 3 in 1 and R4
     
  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    That's the way it works when you patch with GBATA. Your choices are to deal with the error message, or patch the game with the EZ4 Client, but if you use the EZ4 Client you can't run it in PSRAM mode with the 3in1 Expansion Pack Tool.
     
  3. sanoblue
    OP

    Member sanoblue The Fuzzy Blue Woof!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    `so with EZ4 Client = no sram but no error message?

    didnt want to run on sram anyway...

    so i can patch it with EZ4 and run it to nor through 3in1 pack tool?
     
  4. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah... For some reason, many flash carts choke on 128 kilobyte saves in GBA mode. Even though most by far support larger DS types like 256 or 512 flawlessly.
     
  5. sanoblue
    OP

    Member sanoblue The Fuzzy Blue Woof!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    interesting
     
  6. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. In fact, if you want to link it with the (patched) DS pokemon games to migrate your pokeymans you HAVE to run it this way.


    Edit: Never, ever, EVER run a game that has been processed by the EZ4 Client from PSRAM using the 3in1 Expansion Pack Tool, or you will lose save data. If you want to run a game from PSRAM, patch it with GBATA.
     
  7. sanoblue
    OP

    Member sanoblue The Fuzzy Blue Woof!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    someone should write a guide and list the tools and all
     
  8. sanoblue
    OP

    Member sanoblue The Fuzzy Blue Woof!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    can a non patched nds game see the nor gba??
    and can a patched nds see both non and real carts?
     
  9. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    No, and no. A non-patched rom (or a retail Diamond or Pearl game) can only read the save from retail GBA pokemon games.

    Once patched, a Diamond or Pearl rom can only read the save from the 3-in-1, and only if the GBA pokemon was flashed to NOR.
     
  10. sanoblue
    OP

    Member sanoblue The Fuzzy Blue Woof!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    kool kool where can i get the patch??
     
  11. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
  12. sanoblue
    OP

    Member sanoblue The Fuzzy Blue Woof!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    thanks youve been a great help and thanks for the info -=hugs=- [​IMG] now if there was a way to get save files off my real cart and use it on my rom id be in heaven
     
  13. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    You can get saves off of retail carts, but I don't think you can get saves from the GBA pokemon games with the hardware you've mentioned.

    For DS saves, Eepinator or savsender are good choices. For GBA saves, the only option I know of is the cart_save version of SendSave by Chishm. (Link) It requires a slot 2 flashcart with DLDI support, so you can't get the save from a retail game with the 3-in-1.
     
  14. sanoblue
    OP

    Member sanoblue The Fuzzy Blue Woof!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    what would be a good slot 2 solution for backing up gba saves and gba roms?

    or would it be easier to try and mod the savsender file to work on .nds format and save to a slot one?
     
  15. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The only carts that I know for certain work for getting saves off of a GBA game are the G6 slot 2 carts, which are fairly expensive. I know that the slot 2 Supercard carts (and the slot 2 CycloDS carts, which are Supercard clones) won't work for getting saves off of GBA games.

    There is also the GBA gameshark and other similar products that can get saves from GBA games, but I know virtually nothing about them.

    As far as modding savsender (or SendSave, which is what I think you meant), good luck. Unless you are a very experienced programmer I wouldn't even consider it a possibility.
     
  16. sanoblue
    OP

    Member sanoblue The Fuzzy Blue Woof!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Country:
    United States
    hum.... i know enough i think to make an attempt... but dont have much free time here... so im guessing that g6 might be best
     

Share This Page