1. Foxi4

    Foxi4 Cynical Absurdist
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26,542
    Country:
    Poland
    Better yet, I'll show you how to change the time manually to whatever time you want:

    http://www.psypokes.com/gsc/timechange.php
    Epic Brain Derp. I should probably head to bed...
     
    cearp and raulpica like this.
  2. raulpica

    raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,066
    Country:
    Italy
    I wonder why Nintendo went for something that complicated if you wanted to reset your clock? It's almost certain that they did that to force you in calling their hotlines.
    But... why? What's so dangerous in JUST resetting a clock, that they've wanted to prevent the users in doing that on their own? :unsure:
     
    Deleted-236924 likes this.
  3. sonicrings

    OP sonicrings GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,573
    Country:
    Canada
    Ah, thank you for this. I've seen it before but had forgotten about it. However, it would be rather troublesome to go through this process each and every time I play Gold... I was hoping there was a way to make my game show TIME NOT SET every time I boot it up to allow me to set the time manually without having to go through this secret menu and enter a password.
     
    raulpica likes this.
  4. Foxi4

    Foxi4 Cynical Absurdist
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26,542
    Country:
    Poland
    The feature was later removed in Crystal so I'm willing to wager that it's a debug menu for testing day/night conditions, especially since an End User wouldn't be able to generate a password for it. Now we can because the game was hacked to s*it, but back then this wasn't an option.
    I haven't heard of such a patch, sorry - the RTC clock was on-cartridge, I'm assuming it'd be pre-requisite for using such functionality. Patches like this properly kicked off in the GBA era.
     
    raulpica likes this.
  5. raulpica

    raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,066
    Country:
    Italy
    I have the gut feeling that a patch able to do that would even be quite easy to do, if you knew ASM...

    Dunno, try PM'ing Prof. 9 I remember he did some Boktai patches, so that's your best shot.
     
  6. sonicrings

    OP sonicrings GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,573
    Country:
    Canada
    Lameboy somehow makes this option appear every time I boot the game, so wouldn't it be at all possible to get the Smart Card to do this as well?
     
  7. Foxi4

    Foxi4 Cynical Absurdist
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26,542
    Country:
    Poland
    Lameboy is an emulator - it can "fake" the presence of RTC. Smart Card is a physical device. It's two very different fields - in an emulator all it takes is a manipulation of a couple of addresses, on hardware it's not so simple.
    Technically you could hard-code "day" and "night" codes and create a hook that switches between them, sure. Unfortunately I know no one who'd be capable of performing such dark wizardry.
     
  8. sonicrings

    OP sonicrings GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,573
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks, I sent him a PM. I hope he'll be able to help me.
     
  9. sonicrings

    OP sonicrings GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,573
    Country:
    Canada
    You know how there are emulators built in ROMs (like Goomba)? Maybe there'd be something that can be done similar to this in that it emulators RTC on the Smart Card... Hmm...
     
  10. sonicrings

    OP sonicrings GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,573
    Country:
    Canada
    Prof 9 just responded. He doesn't know ASM. :(
     
  11. Foxi4

    Foxi4 Cynical Absurdist
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26,542
    Country:
    Poland
    You can't "emulate" a Game Boy on a Game Boy - your best bet would be some variety of an embedded AR code, or rather its equivalent from that era.
     
  12. sonicrings

    OP sonicrings GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,573
    Country:
    Canada
    Surely there is a way to make the ROM always say TIME NOT SET every time you boot it up, no?
     
  13. Foxi4

    Foxi4 Cynical Absurdist
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26,542
    Country:
    Poland
    It's simply not as simple as you think it is. ;) Even knowlege of ASM wouldn't guarantee success since decompilation of a binary is rarely perfect - stuff like this takes a lot of trial and error, research and most importantly time. Seeing that nobody else has done it yet and it's a common issue on Game Boy flashkits, i'd wager that it simply wasn't worth the effort when there's a built-in menu for setting the time.
     
  14. Drenn

    Drenn GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    573
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi

    This doesn't sound hard. I'll give it a shot.
     
    sonicrings and cearp like this.
  15. sonicrings

    OP sonicrings GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,573
    Country:
    Canada
    Well that just breaks my heart >.< I guess I'll have to keep that tool somewhere handy. :/
     
  16. sonicrings

    OP sonicrings GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,573
    Country:
    Canada
    OH THANK YOU! YOU JUST MADE MY DAY! *squeals like a little girl getting a pony for her birthday*
    I really appreciate your initiative, let me know if you come up with anything. Thanks again, man! I'll lie in wait. :)
     
  17. Foxi4

    Foxi4 Cynical Absurdist
    Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    26,542
    Country:
    Poland
    Well, all I can say is "good luck", as long as you find out what you're supposed to redirect or feed the info prior to boot, you're golden. ;)
     
  18. Drenn

    Drenn GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    573
    Country:
    Canada
    Done, here ya go.

    Reading the subroutine for the "clock reset" menu, all it did was write 0x80 to a byte of the save RAM. It's a "clock reset byte", I guess. So I put a read breakpoint there, and I find a function which reads the byte as a return value. So I hard-code the return value of that function to be 0x80 instead of whatever the value actually is. It seems to do the trick.
     
    zfreeman, cearp, tvall and 3 others like this.
  19. sonicrings

    OP sonicrings GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,573
    Country:
    Canada
    Your link seems doesn't seem to open for me.
     
  20. sonicrings

    OP sonicrings GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,573
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, I right-clicked your link and saved the file that way. What do I do with the ips file?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Pokemon, Smart,