Pokemon Emerald - possible clock fix -NOT WORKING-

Discussion in 'GBA - Game Development, ROM Hacks and Translations' started by Destructobot, May 31, 2008.

  1. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Edit: Never mind, the patch doesn't work.


    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     


  2. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    First reply!!
    I'll test it in VBA...
    *EDIT*
    Works on shoal cave. finally thanks to you I have the shoal bell thing. its a pointless item but still thanks.
    I'll post later full results. now to get an Evee...
     
  3. IndianGangster

    Newcomer IndianGangster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    wow thanks, ill try it out in my ezflash4 for gba sp

    btw: do i have to know what this means: "rom I used to make the patch has a CRC32 of 1F1C08FB."
     
  4. Awdofgum

    Member Awdofgum Wadofgum

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,884
    Country:
    United States
    If I my M3 Perfect worked, I'd would gladly test it.
     
  5. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seems a good time to ask.

    How does the "Clock Fix" work? How does it know the time? Or am I completely wrong?
     
  6. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think it uses the internal clock?
     
  7. DarkCrudus

    Member DarkCrudus The Ghost

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    got a white screen of doom on the VBA
     
  8. IndianGangster

    Newcomer IndianGangster Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    ok i tested it on my gba sp ezflash IV and it did not work [​IMG]
    the clock stayed the same even after 20 mins of game play
    lol the game keeps tracks of how you have played but it doesn't keep track of the time [​IMG]

    note: the game does not say that the internal battery is dry
     
  9. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    that means you didn't select the 128k save type, this is required for pokemon games.
    or you didn't use the right rom to patch.
     
  10. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not actually sure how the clock fix works. I thought it allowed you to change the time with a button combination, but I don't know what it is (I don't think it magically adds a real working clock to the game). If someone that knows how GBATA's clock fix works could clear this up it would be very helpful.
     
  11. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    According to GBATA's readme, the clock fix should make the clock run during gameplay (obviously, it won't run when the game isn't running). Here is the exact quote:
    --------------

    The CRC32 lets you tell if you have the same exact rom file that I used. WinRAR will tell you what the CRC32 of a file in an archive is.

    If the patch doesn't work, check the CRC32.
     
  12. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It worked for me...

    They way it works is, the GBA pokemon games have a built in battery that lasts just over a year that is used to power the internal clock.
    They installed a failsafe to turn the clock off at exactly a year. the battery can be recharged by linking to pokemon stadium on the gamecube, but if it ran to 0% it would die
    so that is a problem in roms as no battery in hardware = no internal clock, so the patch overrides the internal thing that turns the clock off at a year which means;
    Working clock!
     
  13. DarkCrudus

    Member DarkCrudus The Ghost

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    972
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    tried again on supercard ds one with ezflash 3in1 still got white screen
     
  14. HolmesNumba187

    Newcomer HolmesNumba187 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Country:
    United States
    tried it on VBA. when i try to save it just stays at "Saving...don't turn off the power."
     
  15. D-Trogh

    Member D-Trogh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Why would you want to perform a Clock Fix on Emerald, Nintendo fixed it there..
    Only Ruby and Sapphire need a Clock Fix.. You can fix R/S by linking Emerald to it and do something on load..

    This thread is pointless..
     
  16. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I never tried saving...
    Tried and... well... nothing...

    Tell me more about fixing emerald..?
     
  17. Scytheandsickle

    Member Scytheandsickle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We're talking about fixing the rom so that the clock events still work when you run it in something that doesn't have an internal clock (i.e. VBA/EZFlash 3-in-1)

    Please read before idiotically posting next time. [​IMG]
     
  18. D-Trogh

    Member D-Trogh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Ah, I see..
    Hmm, I'm curious how you could fix this then.. How could you 'emulate' a clock =S
    Or, do these fixes .. ufff, whatever XD
     
  19. xerces

    Member xerces GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    Country:
    United States
    The clock fix is to make the game work on flash cards where there is no Real Time Clock battery. It makes the clock run only during gameplay.
     
  20. Dan U

    Newcomer Dan U Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Hey. So ya. Been playn Emerald on a GBA Emulator. Having issues with this whole time clock fix. Main Issue is im not the smartest when it comes to computers. So just wondering if someone could explain a solution.
     

Share This Page