Pokemon Battle JAP and RegionFrii = wii update?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by PiNPOiNT, Feb 27, 2007.

Feb 27, 2007
  1. PiNPOiNT
    OP

    Newcomer PiNPOiNT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    I tried patching the JAP version of Pokemon Battle with regionfrii and when it started up it asked if i wanted to commence a wii system update. I can't imagine patching a US system with a jap game could be a good thing, but has anyone tried it?
     
  2. jmoe316

    Newcomer jmoe316 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, I wouldn't do it. It's most likely a firmware update to get their Wifi Connection data on the Wii to allow for online gaming.
     
  3. niklasnyfiken

    Member niklasnyfiken GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    Country:
    Switzerland
    If a PAL wii gets updated to the JAP firmware, it's possible that it will only boot JAP games. Which is a good thing if you want to boot JAP and US games on yuor PAL wii and you could then download JAP VC games from the jap VC store. Try it at your own risk. The update may actually fail because it could check your Wii's region and refuse to update it.
     
  4. DGSystems

    DGSystems Newbie

  5. elomaniak

    Member elomaniak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Poland
    my PAL wii updated itself when i inserted Elebits

    now i tried to insert fruit fall and the game showed up in the disc channel so the upgarde doesnt change the overall region of your wii
     
  6. iza

    Member iza gbatemp, the new crack

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    700
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    soo... no advese effects? thats good to hear...
     
  7. Ben_j

    Member Ben_j GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    696
    Country:
    France

    huh ? I didn't have any upgrade. The post is about Pokémon so, anybody updated with Pokémon ?
     
  8. Warm Woolly Shee

    Member Warm Woolly Shee GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    713
    Location:
    Butt City, FA rt
    Country:
    United States
    Nobody has tried this yet?
     
  9. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    does pokemon works on a pal wii? or at least asks for the update? i'm willing to try it if the game boots on my pal wii...
     
  10. Warm Woolly Shee

    Member Warm Woolly Shee GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    713
    Location:
    Butt City, FA rt
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for being the brave one lenselijer! If it ruins your Wii I'll chip in $5 to get you a new one [​IMG]
     
  11. niklasnyfiken

    Member niklasnyfiken GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    Country:
    Switzerland
    It would be interesting if someone tried this, doesn't matter if you have a US or PAL Wii.
     
  12. [Truth]

    Member [Truth] GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    Germany
    xiaNaix at WiiNewz tried it with his Wiikey on a US console and it worked flawlessly.
    since the wiikey has inbuilt regio-free it doesn´t need patch.
    full review here http://www.ps2-scene.org/forums/reviewz/53...key-review.html
     
  13. Pacote

    Newcomer Pacote Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    Brazil
    I updated with pokemon and no problem
     
  14. TaMs

    Member TaMs Randomizer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Finland
    Btw, anyone tried if that pokemon works on pal wii? And is that online game working?
     
  15. elomaniak

    Member elomaniak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Poland
    does this game got englisch menu or s.th like that
    i am unable to read and understand japanese
     
  16. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    anyone tried pokemon on their pal wii? I cant find any reports about it?
     
  17. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    OK I went ahead and tested it on the wiikey, it asked to update: i pressed OK and it updated fine.

    Then i went to start the game but it only gave black screen [​IMG]
     

Share This Page