Please help with R4i. I can't save my games!

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by metal01, Jul 18, 2009.

Jul 18, 2009
  1. metal01
    OP

    Member metal01 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    see title. I"m new to the boards so hi everyone, i've been browsing around for the last couple of days, but i have a prob and wanted help. what do i do?
     


  2. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Welcome to GBAtemp.net! And your topic is in the wrong section.

    Anyway, did you use a real time save function or it's own NDS game's saves?

    Please click here to read the rules and don't create a topic in wrong section! [​IMG]
     
  3. metal01
    OP

    Member metal01 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    honestly i didn't know what section this goes in, i just picked what sounded right so sorry. i used the save on the game i've never heard of real time saving.
     
  4. antonkan

    Member antonkan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Burlington, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh, the NDS games saves? Try re-download a game again for to try how the game saves works.

    P.S. Your post is at second and third post in this topic, you double post! [​IMG]
     
  5. metal01
    OP

    Member metal01 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    not my day is it lol. So i need to redownload all my roms? cause none of them will save.
     
  6. kiya1999

    Newcomer kiya1999 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
  7. metal01
    OP

    Member metal01 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    how do i find out if its locked or not?
     
  8. Aeter

    Member Aeter A walking contradiction

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    935
    Location:
    The lands of nether
    Country:
    Netherlands
    First could you tell us which R4i you have, because there are very many sorts of R4i and with different types come different problems and different solutions.
     
  9. bach3609

    Member bach3609 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    367
    Location:
    Loading................
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Hmmm i recommend you backup your games, and then formatting the micro sd. I'm guessing your games wont save because your file system of the micro sd is messed up. Just simply right click on the micro sd on your pc, and press format. Hope it helps [​IMG]

    Posts merged

    Hmmm i recommend you backup your games, and then formatting the micro sd. I'm guessing your games wont save because your file system of the micro sd is messed up. Just simply right click on the micro sd on your pc, and press format. Hope it helps [​IMG]
     
  10. metal01
    OP

    Member metal01 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    my box on the cover says R4i SDHC, revolution for dsi.

    I have formatted and installed the software several times i was incredibly excited about this thing when getting it now i'm just pissed.
     
  11. triassic911

    Member triassic911 Burst Mode

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743
    Location:
    NYC, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Play a game then turn off. Check on your computer if there is a .sav file created with the name of the game.

    Also, microsd cards do not lock, so I don't know what that other guy is smoking.
     
  12. hackermatt1337

    Newcomer hackermatt1337 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    chesterfield michigan
    Country:
    United States
    well i have no idea why it isn't working, how bout you re download the firmware, see if that helps, if not, contact me and i'll see what i can come up with
     
  13. metal01
    OP

    Member metal01 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    I download the files from www.R4I-SDHC.COM still the same thing. I appreciate the help you guys are giving its great.
     
  14. metal01
    OP

    Member metal01 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    ok thanks for all your help i fixed it the guy who gave me the r4i put bad game files on it, the ones i put on myself just now work fine so i've replaced them. thank you.

    I do however have one other thing i would like to no more about.

    How do I cheat on the R4i. I know you put certain files in certain folders but i don't have the _system_ folder.
     
  15. jonesman99

    Member jonesman99 GBAtemp's Official ArchAndroid

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    A Star Called Metropolis
    Country:
    United States
    which r4i are u talking about? the sdhc one or the rts one?
     
  16. metal01
    OP

    Member metal01 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    the sdhc one
     
  17. jonesman99

    Member jonesman99 GBAtemp's Official ArchAndroid

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    A Star Called Metropolis
    Country:
    United States
    for that one there is not a _system_ folder, or at least not called that, u have to put ur user cheats in the r4imenu folder.

    and as for your saves, u must put them as well as the roms in the root of the card.
    and just putting saves on the card and have them to play normally wont work as the save files that the r4i makes and reads from are 1 mb a piece, and theres no known converter for them...

    any more info on it, just ask and ill try to help solve it.
     
  18. metal01
    OP

    Member metal01 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    alright just so i know i can't just drag and rop a rom and play a game and save i have to put those somewhere in a folder not just floating around?
     
  19. jonesman99

    Member jonesman99 GBAtemp's Official ArchAndroid

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,112
    Location:
    A Star Called Metropolis
    Country:
    United States
    no, just put the rom on the root of the sd or sdhc card, because the r4i will not recognize them if theyre not.

    heres and illustration... well the best i can think of:

    (root or main folder): all nds roms, game saves will be created and resaved there automatically as well as, R4imenu folder (contents inside), and moonshl2 folder (contents inside)

    heres a video tutorial:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B8y4Mx-E_Pw
     
  20. JKR Firefox

    Member JKR Firefox Back.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks mod...oh wait, you aren't a mod.

    Most of your posts are absolute junk and consist of you berating someone for a simple mistake. Maybe it's about time someone started pointing out your flaws.

    As someone else pointed out during one of your unearned power trips, if a post offends you, use the report button. Why did I bother to post this without following my own advice?

    I wanted you to see how needlessly overbearing you are especially towards our newer members. Let the mods moderate and you mind your own business.

    BTW, just in case you think I'm a hypocrite, I've reported both of your posts.
     

Share This Page