Please help! Why won't my burns work anymore? They did yesterd

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Zeldafanzero, Nov 28, 2008.

  1. Zeldafanzero
    OP

    Newcomer Zeldafanzero Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, so last week I dumped 3 Wii games for the first time using Waninkoko's excellent DVD dumper, and they worked perfect using WiiGator's 0.3 Backup Loader (Not sure about the specifics of this loader, I don't think it's the Gamma one though).

    A few nights ago I dumped Sonic and the Secret Rings, burned it (Using Nero 6), and it worked great.

    Last night, however, I dumped Scarface and burned it, but it wouldn't load and instead gave me a "An error has occured. Turn off your system and consult the game manual" message (But the message was using the Scarface font and style so I'm pretty sure it managed to read at least something off the disk).

    There was nothing particularly different about the burning (Took the usual 17 minutes) and the disk was the same kind as the first four (16x DVD-R), although it was from a different box (Same manufacturer/shop I bought it from/etc though).

    I was looking at the disk and I noticed that there was a thick "circle" around the inside of the disk. It was the same colour as the disk, just a little darker. I've made a quick diagram to try and show what I mean:

    [​IMG]

    The red circle is showing the bit of the disk where it's coloured differently.

    I thought "Maybe it just burned the first 500mb or something", but it definitely burned for the usual amount of time and said it burned successfully.

    I tried Manhunt 2 (Cut version), and the same thing happened, except it played the intro movie, menu, etc, but stopped reading the disk when it got to the part where I should have been able to start controlling the charecter.

    The burn lasted around 17 minutes, but again the disk had the off-coloured circle.

    Any suggestions? Thanks in advance!
     


  2. kashin

    Member kashin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You might want to try different software for the burning, i assume your previously burned games still work?

    PS: It is also highly reccomended to upgrade whatever loader you might be using to Wiigator's 0.3 Gamma, if it does not work you can always try the latest Softchip rev (Custom IOS selection) at your own risk.
     
  3. Zeldafanzero
    OP

    Newcomer Zeldafanzero Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I tried Sonic and the Secret Rings along with some of my earlier backups and they still work.

    I don't really think it's the software though, as it was ok last week and it hasn't changed or anything?

    Thanks.
     
  4. tomazzzi

    Member tomazzzi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    Next time be carefull when you put your dirty hands on your dvd s [​IMG]
     
  5. Zeldafanzero
    OP

    Newcomer Zeldafanzero Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol, I was very careful to keep them clean, lol.
     
  6. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    use high grade media and burn at decent speeds.
     
  7. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    The ring is just the end of a zone in a Z-CLV burn. Update your drive's firmware. Use decent media. Burn at rated speed.
     
  8. ComplicatioN

    Member ComplicatioN Broken Barriers

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    Thousand Sunny
    Country:
    Australia
    i think its bad dump check the size of the iso and try using imageburn
     
  9. HazukiSon

    Newcomer HazukiSon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    Wasn't it Beta loader that scarface didnt work with....so theres your answer [​IMG]
     
  10. Zeldafanzero
    OP

    Newcomer Zeldafanzero Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Really? I read that Scarface worked.

    Ok, I got the Gamma loader now so I'll try that. Doesn't explain why Manhunt didn't work though?
     
  11. tweak201

    Newcomer tweak201 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Scarface did not work on the beta for me, Updating to cios7, installing gamma channel fixed scarface. BTW,im using a decrypted scarface that worked since loader .01. Got the same error as you to!
     
  12. porchemasi

    Member porchemasi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    CANADA
    Country:
    Canada
    your using crap media (BUY VERBATIM +R) your games will work perfectly [​IMG]

    burn at 4x or 6x :-) (2.4x personally causes DRE for me)

    BTW! USE imgburn ! enough said!
     
  13. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    try it a 6x with imgburn media i suggest is either Memorex dvd-r(
     
  14. Zeldafanzero
    OP

    Newcomer Zeldafanzero Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But the DVDs I was using were already working fine?

    I'll try imageburn later, along with Gamma. Will report back with results if anything fails.

    Thanks!
     
  15. porchemasi

    Member porchemasi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    CANADA
    Country:
    Canada
    BRO like i said, i had the same exact problem. The data on the disk (the pits and valleys) become faded and the 0 and 1s are MUCH MUCH HARDER FOR THE WII LASER TO READ !

    I have some games on Memormex that use to work aswell!
     
  16. WhiteWingedKnigh

    Member WhiteWingedKnigh GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Location:
    Ummm.....
    Country:
    United States
    Use IMGBURN!!! if that don't work then you got a bad dump.
     
  17. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    You need to install the latest cIOS from either WiiGator or waninkoko.

    The latest cIOS improves compatibility.

    Your currently using the cIOS that was used for 0.3 Beta. You need the cIOS to use 0.3 Gamma.

    You do not need to use the 0.3 Gamma Channel/HBC DOL, as the 0.3 Beta Channel/HBC DOL will still work with the new cIOS.
     
  18. Zeldafanzero
    OP

    Newcomer Zeldafanzero Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    NO WAY!!!

    I've spent all weekend being unable to use my Wii as I've been dumping and burning the disk over and over again. Didn't realise I needed a new cIOS. >_<

    Thank you so much!
     
  19. Zeldafanzero
    OP

    Newcomer Zeldafanzero Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh wait, one more question:

    What's the cIOS file I need, and how do I install it over the one I already have?

    From my understanding this doesn't break the rules as I'm not asking for it, but if it is then can someone please let me know or remove this. Thanks.
     
  20. Zeldafanzero
    OP

    Newcomer Zeldafanzero Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh yeah! I should note that the red circle thing I mentioned in the first post actually occurs on ALL of my burns! So it was not a problem with the disk after all!
     

Share This Page