Please help! I am using the B9S update guide but have luma 6.6. What do?

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by sensubean, Sep 2, 2018.

  1. sensubean
    OP

    sensubean Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 2, 2018
    United States
    Thank you for any help you can offer! I am a total noob. How do I go about changing my luma in order to follow the boot chain process?
    I have followed a gbatemp thread that I found from a google search in which the OP posed a similar problem, but am still confused as to what I should do and what I should download. Thanks again if you can help at all!!!
     
  2. Itzumi

    Itzumi Needs More Aesthetics

    Member
    4
    Jun 27, 2018
    United States
    USA
    are you on a9lh?
     
  3. sensubean
    OP

    sensubean Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 2, 2018
    United States
    I think so. Is there any sure way to check?
     
  4. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    9
    Dec 26, 2015
    United States
    BL4Z3D247 and TurdPooCharger like this.
  5. sensubean
    OP

    sensubean Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 2, 2018
    United States
    Hmm. So what am I doing wrong then? Following the guide, I can't follow the chain of updates because I can't hold start+power button to open the menu.
     
  6. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    9
    Dec 26, 2015
    United States
    Use 7.0.5 not 6.6 and check the file that is needed for the update from A9LH to B9S.
     
  7. sensubean
    OP

    sensubean Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 2, 2018
    United States
    Oh okay. How do I change that?
     
  8. Nemos59

    Nemos59 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    3
    Aug 1, 2018
    France
    Somewhere
    I think you need to install the version 7.0.5 of Luma on your SD card, by changing all files that are in the Luma folder that you downloaded.
     
  9. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    9
    Dec 26, 2015
    United States
    Replace the Arm9loaderhax.bin with the one in 7.0.5.
     
  10. sensubean
    OP

    sensubean Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 2, 2018
    United States
    Thanks guys! I was able to change the replace the files for luma and arm9loader.bin and made it v7.0.5 however I am still unable to hold start and power in order to boot up the menu. What other problem might there be?
     
  11. NFates

    NFates Wants to understand™

    Member
    5
    Mar 13, 2016
    Dominican Republic
    Probably home.
    What happens if you try to enter the chainloader (start + power)? It boots up to the Home Menu instead?

    What is in your /luma/payloads folder?
     
  12. sensubean
    OP

    sensubean Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 2, 2018
    United States
    Yeah it goes straight to the 3ds menu like I wasn't holding start+power. I'm able to go into the luma menu fine with select+power. I left the luma payloads the same according to the guide. The luma payload folder contains "GodMode9.firm" and "SafeB9Installer.firm".
     
  13. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    9
    Dec 26, 2015
    United States
    Rename SafeB9Sinstaller.firm as boot.firm to install Boot9strap and put it on the root of your SD.
     
    Last edited by Hayato213, Sep 3, 2018
  14. sensubean
    OP

    sensubean Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Sep 2, 2018
    United States
    THANK YOU EVERYONE YOU ARE THE BEST
     
  15. zacchi4k

    zacchi4k GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    7
    Feb 6, 2015
    Italy
    Somewhere eating pizza

    Wait, how did this work? How could she boot a firm with a9lh?
     
  16. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    9
    Dec 26, 2015
    United States
    haha my fault, i meant the safeB9SInstaller.bin
     
  17. orlak01

    orlak01 Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 4, 2018
    Philippines
    im using 6.6 in my n3ds xl too
    is this guide works on my device??
     
  18. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    9
    Dec 26, 2015
    United States
    Yea, update to B9S, A9LH is no longer supported.
     
  19. orlak01

    orlak01 Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 4, 2018
    Philippines
    i forgot to copy emunand to sysnand
    (section4 in "move emunand")
    is it ok?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

     

    Attached Files:

  20. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    9
    Dec 26, 2015
    United States
    New setup of CFW or are you updating from A9LH to B9S?
     
  21. orlak01

    orlak01 Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 4, 2018
    Philippines
    im updating to b9s
     
Loading...