Please help Black Wii only shows blank screen when turned on

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by amzo, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. amzo
    OP

    Newcomer amzo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The wii was on 4.2E and after trying to downgrade to 3.2E with ios downgrader the wii just shows a blank screen...Silly me did not put on a preloader or bootmii before doing this. Is there any way of fixing this wii...Is it bricked even though there is no error message when switching it on?

    Thanks in advance for any help that can be given.
     


  2. mafiaman1564

    Newcomer mafiaman1564 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    usa
    Country:
    United States
    Why the fuck would you even try to downgrade a black wii? That doesn't even make sense you get 0 benefits from downgrading it. Besides the fact it states on almost all wii hacking sites that downgrading any wii above 3.2 is a big no no. I'm very dissapointed
     
  3. rookrook

    Member rookrook GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    United States
    LOL@mafiaman1564 that really helped the guy out now he knows exactly all his opions [​IMG]
     
  4. mafiaman1564

    Newcomer mafiaman1564 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    usa
    Country:
    United States
    Well you see tons of ppl have done this already and i dont think there is a fix so im just gonna make him feel dumb which he is
     
  5. amzo
    OP

    Newcomer amzo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Was trying to put on cios to play backups but was unable to modify some due to them being stubs and so they were not being updated.

    Have you anything useful to say with regards to this now that I have got to this point?
     
  6. amzo
    OP

    Newcomer amzo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No need to be a twat.
     
  7. mafiaman1564

    Newcomer mafiaman1564 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    usa
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry but if you do dumb shit like that you deserve to be treated like an idiot and a lot of ppl would agree.
     
  8. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    You could try sending it to Nintendo.
     
  9. amzo
    OP

    Newcomer amzo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is still not very helpful. If anyone has any useful input please post.
     
  10. amzo
    OP

    Newcomer amzo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks was gonna do that...Will try to get away with saying it occured after trying to upgrade to new firmware?...never know might get away with it. Unless there is another way of sorting this out. Was there not a repair disk or something that Nintendo use that was leaked?
     
  11. mafiaman1564

    Newcomer mafiaman1564 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    usa
    Country:
    United States
    OK well the only thing I can think of is sending it to nintendo or sneek might be able to boot? but you wouldnt be able to anything to the real nand hmm
     
  12. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Country:
    Sweden
    Sorry but Nintendo is the only option.
     
  13. Lothlorian

    Member Lothlorian GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Location:
    Berdoo
    Country:
    United States
    Old IOS files do not work correctly with the newer hardware in new Wii's. Ninty changed the IOS's so they work on old wii's and still work on new Wii's.

    When you downgraded to old IOS on a New Wii things went bad for you.

    Black Screen on start-up is very bad and unfix-able in most situations.


    Since it black screens Nintys third party techs wont be able to run checks on it. If it is still under warranty you can send it in . Call the 800 number on your Wii Manual. I would avoid telling them what you did to it. [​IMG]
     
  14. EseHomes

    Banned EseHomes Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, you caused a full brick that can only be recovered if there is a nand backup that was done before the brick.
     
  15. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    There's really nothing that can be done by software on this Wii. The boot order is: boot2 -> system menu IOS -> system menu, since the Wii can't use the system menu IOS, you won't get into the system menu, and everything software related you could theoretically do requires the system menu to be at least partially booted. And priiloader wouldn't have helped you, because it "just" replaces the system menu, and your Wii will never get that far.

    How the hell did you get the idea that downgrading to 3.2 is good/safe/"the thing" to do?

    PS: You either have a stub IOS30 or IOS30v1040/1042, but it doesn't matter, because the 1st is a completely not working IOS, the 2nd is not working on YOUR Wii.(and both is something that SHOULD be known by everybody)
     
  16. pretender13

    Member pretender13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Country:
    Canada
    Good luck with sending to ninty even if it is black screened.
     
  17. amzo
    OP

    Newcomer amzo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the reply guys... Will try nintendo route.... Wasn't my wii anyhow lol!!
     
  18. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Just tell them it was bricked by the 4.3 update. And for future reference, any Wii that came with version 4.0 or higher will brick if you try to downgrade.
     
  19. Paah

    Newcomer Paah Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Finland
    I wouldn't tell them that it "was bricked by 4.3 update".
    Sounds too knowledgeable.. Pretend to be dumb [​IMG]
    Like say you tried to go to shop channel and it asked for update and you accepted and then it didnt work and wont boot.
     
  20. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    He would know that the update was for 4.3 because of the Wii Message Board message.
     

Share This Page