Please confirm this for me

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by mflo, Feb 23, 2007.

Feb 23, 2007

Please confirm this for me by mflo at 1:33 AM (1,637 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. mflo
    OP

    Member mflo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    United States
    The serial number on the back of your DS Lite has nothing to do with your success in flashing, right?
    I have a UG1.
     
  2. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    UG4!!! but never rtried to flash... although Nintendo might of changeds hardware (if who's evers is newer), it could be by all means possible... and hackable! [​IMG]
     
  3. mflo
    OP

    Member mflo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    United States
    I'm scared to flash now.... What should I do? Should I just go ahead and try to flash it? Do you think that Nintendo changed the hardware?
     
  4. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Just get a slot 1 solution if thats an option. They're cheaper and easier to use.
     
  5. Magus19

    Member Magus19 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Canada,Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah I wouldn't flash a DSlite, it's more risky than the old DS and with Slot-1 flashcarts, which are better than slot-2 one, it's a risk not worth it.
     
  6. mflo
    OP

    Member mflo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    United States
    I just want protection from brickers TT.TT and by protection, I mean I want to be able to restore my firmware if I ever get a bricker. And I have an R4, Not right now, But it will be delivered tomorrow.

    @Magus, What do you mean when you say it's riskier? Is it because it's smaller and the parts are closer together?
     
  7. mflo
    OP

    Member mflo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not afraid of shorting the SL1, It's just that I'm afraid Nintendo changed something in the Lite to make it incompatible with FlashMe. And god dammit, The screw to the battery is so damn small, I need a tiny ass screw driver now...

    Edit: Nvm, Took a knife and dulled it down on some concrete and opened my batter cover. I see how small the hole is now, I'll still try it.
     
  8. friedchicken

    Member friedchicken GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    southern california
    Country:
    United States
    this is a bit shady but you can try it
    if you get a bricker, invest in a tri-wing screw
    infer the rest =)
     
  9. mflo
    OP

    Member mflo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    United States
    I see what you mean, Would be easier to flash with the whole thing open eh? Now that I've looked at the hole from different angles, I can see the metal on the left side that connects to the screw thingy on the right hole. What about the right side of the SL1 Hole? Is there anything there?
     
  10. dOoBiX

    Banned dOoBiX Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    The right side of the SL1 hole has the screw. It's kind of hard to reach that screw from the SL1 hole... so you don't really have to worry about that.
     
  11. slayerspud

    Member slayerspud GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just flash it. Don't get why people say it is hard. I just stuck a screwdriver into my Ds lite keeping it straight and everything was fine.
     
  12. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All I used was a tooth pick, covered it in foil and then used insulation tape and just left it showing the tip of the foil. I just need to put it SL1 slot and it flashes. Whatever you use to flash it, just be on the safe side and insulate everything but the tip.
     
  13. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Oops sorry delete this post
     
  14. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    I shoved a wad of tinfoil in it and it worked. It's not hard. Don't bother though, just don't download from shady sites and there will be no need for flashing.
     
  15. zone97

    Member zone97 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    466
    Location:
    Eastern Time zone
    Country:
    United States
    I just flashed and then unflashed a brand new DSL... Unflashed you asked? Got an R4 for the new unit. NO need for flash anylonger.. I'm not worryed about malicious code. Hardly ever use homebrews.
     
  16. mflo
    OP

    Member mflo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, I flashed my DS, It wasn't hard at all, yay!
     
  17. bobrules

    Member bobrules GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    I won't flash it cause I see no reason to right now.
     
  18. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Serial numbers have nothing to do with i dont think, i flashed a pink ds lite that was brought in mid november and a white dsl that was brought a week before xmas. Flashing isnt hard, as long as u insulate your tool well and keep a steady hand, as soon as u get to 2% and past you're home safe because if you shot it after 2% u can recover....Although i dont think you can recover if flashing from a slot 1 card can you??
     

Share This Page