1. MetoMeto

    MetoMeto GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,161
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your posts are the best.

    Emulation seems faster and smoother now on my old PC.
     
    Last edited by MetoMeto, May 8, 2020
  2. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    if only i didin't have a s****y laptop
     
    CrossOut likes this.
  3. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    2,703
    Country:
    Argentina
    Nice but my PS2 still works so maybe I will try when I finally get a new PC.
     
  4. MetoMeto

    MetoMeto GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,161
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can someone share settings with best performance with me for
    tomb raider aod and
    ape escape 3?

    Please
     
  5. CrossOut

    CrossOut GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    337
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can be hard to say. It depends or your computer. but a quick summation is If you have a better cpu then my amd 4300(haha) and a good graphics card like a gtx 960 you can leave the settings as they are by defalut and you will most likely get great results. What are you computers specs? If they are really good you can go into the vidoe settings and put the resolution up to 1980x1080 which is full hd. You can also enable texture filters and anti aliasing. A good computer means you will not need speed hacks which is really helpful in terms of framerates I think?
     
    Subtle Demise likes this.
  6. Ferris1000

    Ferris1000 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    Germany
    I don’t trust the new version 1.6 because my anti virus warned me that it’s malicious and it could include a rat tool called BEAST which opens a backdoor to your PC and give unknown people remote access to your PC without given permission so be careful guys.

    The Version 1.4 was clean and didn’t contained any malicious code but I’m not sure about Version 1.6.

    Since a while a lot of software contains RAT tools or installs hidden VMs with mining software.
     
  7. Latiodile

    Latiodile Professionally dead inside
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,237
    Country:
    Canada
    ???
    https://www.virustotal.com/gui/file/f3401d6f74a4306797d9aab298d58c3b3898eb563495c463993f378c9f4801cb
     
    Subtle Demise likes this.
  8. NoNAND

    NoNAND Give me back my legions!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,160
    Country:
    Albania
    My laptop runs it very well.
    I hope this fixes the glitching issues with SMT nocturne
     
  9. CrossOut

    CrossOut GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    337
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This is called a false postive and it happens to me with cheat engine. The download is safe.
     
    Subtle Demise likes this.
  10. MetoMeto

    MetoMeto GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1,161
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just want general performance settings regardless of pc, cause i dont know what options can i tweak and where to lover everything down as much as i can and if i want i can increase to the point where my PC can handle it but still run smoothly. that's the general idea.

    as for resolution i'm happy with native really, and 720p is maximum i can go (and don't see reason to go beyond) 'cause my monitor is older also, so...yeah.

    As for specs....

    Windows 7 64bit
    RAM: 8GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 798MHz (11-11-11-28)
    CPU: Intel Core i5 3470 @ 3.20GHz
    GPU: Saphire Radeon 1GB HD 6770 GDDR5


    So if you can at least point me to general settings for best performance, and tell me what option to tweak and what affect them the most, i'd be happy metroid ^^

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by MetoMeto, May 8, 2020
  11. 64bitmodels

    64bitmodels GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    Messages:
    794
    Country:
    United States
    shitty laptop gang
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  12. sirrokr

    sirrokr Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    I run this emu on a GPD Win 2. Core m3 dual core. Sure, I can only play it with an internal render of 1x, but that is fine.

    I can try it on my GPD Win 1, but I replaced windows with linux on that one.
     
  13. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat Dev and Gameboy Modder
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9,327
    Country:
    United States
    If it's not even x64, why are they still wasting their time with the 32-bit version? That's probably holding back the performance by a shitload. Not to mention it's probably not even multi-threaded. It sure doesn't seem like it is, anyway.
     
    Subtle Demise likes this.
  14. Tom Bombadildo

    Tom Bombadildo Dick, With Balls
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    13,988
    Country:
    United States
    Because it doesn't boost performance "a shitload" at all, according to the devs. The performance boost would be minimal at best and not worth the effort of completely restructuring the way the emulator was coded to give it more than a bare minimum boost.

    Also, it does use multithreading, it'll use up to 3 cores with MTVU.
     
    Psionic Roshambo likes this.
  15. sirrokr

    sirrokr Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    United States
    Well, running on the GPD Win 1 under linux was a bust.
    64-bit x86 Intel Atom x7 Z8750 (1.60 GHz/2.56 GHz max)

    Only got about 50% speed.
     
    Last edited by sirrokr, May 8, 2020
  16. DuoForce

    DuoForce GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    Messages:
    535
    Country:
    United States
    Hahahahahahha 2016 is not new
     
  17. Wooshy

    Wooshy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    I agree with the point that even new laptops have crappy specs, its like they dont try anymore to give out decent things as long as the form is nice
     
  18. CrossOut

    CrossOut GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2018
    Messages:
    337
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    With your hardware in mind, you will have a bit better setting than me i think, Your graphics card may be an issue to run certain games as it is an older card but your have a good i5 cpu so you can twaek a few this to get your games running in HD. First thing is to go into the vido setting and set these options,

    Renderer direct3d11
    Adapter: your graphics card
    interlacing: automatic
    texture filtering: Bilinear ps2
    Indernal resolution: 2x
    anisotrophic filtering: 4x
    crc hack level: default
    date accuracy: fast
    blend accuracy: basic

    Sound settings
    Aspect ratio: widescreen

    custom window size: 1280x720
    hw hacks: unless you play certian games you do not need to mess with this from what I understand, so do not use it.

    Emulation Settings:

    Speedhacks
    tick the box that says mtvu. Since you have 4 cores this will help a lot. Now these speed hacks is where things come into play in terms of getting your games running. For me since i have a weaker cpu i need it set higher to beable to run a fair amout of games a constant framerate. You however can get away with a bit less because of you good cpu. So with the setting above run the game you want and mess with these setting and see what framerates you get. You may need to have the ee cyclerate at 130% and the ee cycle skipping at minus 1 like i do? Again play around with all these setting and see what you can get.

    custom window size: 1280x720
    hw hacks: unless you play certian games you do not need to mess with this from what I understand, so do not use it.
     
  19. Latiodile

    Latiodile Professionally dead inside
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    2,237
    Country:
    Canada
    why do you think i put "new" in quotation marks, also these things are still freshly sold factory new, acer, asus and HP are the 3 biggest culprits for selling these trashtops
     
  20. Mama Looigi

    Mama Looigi I wanna be a mongoose :3
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Messages:
    678
    Country:
    United States
    Man I never even knew 1.5.0 came out!
    I'VE BEEN ON UPDATE 1.4.0 FOR MONTHS ;O;
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - PlayStation, emulator, updated