Playing NES, SNES, N64, etc Roms on the WiiU

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by Cortex, May 9, 2016.

1. Cortex
    OP

Cortex Newbie

Newcomer
    May 9, 2016
    United States
    Hello. I'm new to the world of WiiU hacking. First I want to say thank you to all involved in the recent kexploit. I was able to get it working on my WiiU, and have the HBC and Loadiine working great.

What I can't seem to figure out is how to play NES, SNES, N64, and other ROMs on the WiiU. For example, I have several .nes roms that I want to play, but am not sure how to load them through loadiine.

I have read through several threads and am still not clear if this is only possible through vWii modding, or if I can do it via VC game injection or some other method. These 2 threads make it seem like it's possible outside of vWii modding:

https://gbatemp.net/threads/wiiu-vc-game-injection-working-on-5-3-2.395930/

https://gbatemp.net/threads/wip-s-nesinject-a-rom-injector-tool-for-loadiine.404017/

However, in the 2nd link regarding the (S)NESInject tool, I don't know how to get the VC RPX that I am supposed to convert to an ELF file.

Any help in satisfying my nostalgia for Contra, Punchout, etc would be greatly appreciated.

2. Zwizzy

Zwizzy Newbie

Newcomer
    May 9, 2016
    United States
    I too am curious if there are any tutorials online out there? I would love to show my girlfriend Super Mario RPG and Diddy Kong Racing, some of my favorite games as a kid.

3. Superbossboo

Superbossboo The Regular

Aug 19, 2015
    United States
    Los Angeles
    For starters, you can get them loadiine-ready. I remember seeing a n64 pack that had paper mario, Mario Kart 64, Super Mario 64, and smash64. Other than that, the injection method as stated above.

4. Cortex
    OP

Cortex Newbie

Newcomer
    May 9, 2016
    United States