playing homebrew on no$gba

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by rafcor, Sep 15, 2007.

Sep 15, 2007

playing homebrew on no$gba by rafcor at 10:20 PM (1,335 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. rafcor
    OP

    Newcomer rafcor Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Brazil
    i'm making a few translations for homebrew games, like puzzlemaniak to brazilian portuguese, and i want to test the game to translate it better

    is it possible to play homebrew apps/games in a windows emulator such as no$gab ou ideas?
     
  2. Samutz

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    The easiest thing to do would have been to download no$gba a homebrew app and try it.

    But yes, most (if not all) homebrew developers use emulators to test/debug their apps.
     
  3. rafcor
    OP

    Newcomer rafcor Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Brazil
    i tried to play puzzlemaniak with no$gba 2.4e and no good, the emulator tell me to use a bios image, but as far as i know, no$gba doesn't need it anymore

    can anyone try it?
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,738
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. rafcor
    OP

    Newcomer rafcor Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Brazil
    thx, i'll take a look
     
  6. rafcor
    OP

    Newcomer rafcor Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Brazil
    i tried, but i've only got errors while playing it, if the rom didn't crash, no$gba show a msg that I need a BIOS image

    i've got a few but couldn't figure out if it was the right one and how to use it properly

    can anyone help me?
     
  7. jive

    Newcomer jive Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Birkenfeld
    Country:
    Germany
    I have the same problem. I need to make a lot of screenshots from homebrew games, but only those that don't require DLDI patching are working fine. I do have the correct BIOS images, most of the commercial games work properly.

    Is there a way to run homebrew which accesses files in a folder, in no$gba or any other emu there is? All 5 emus I use for testing don't work for this task.
     
  8. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,738
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Read up FCSR images, you will not be able to write things easily but reading should not be a problem. psychowood's DLDIrc added FCSR image creation a little while back if you do not feel the need to mess with the command line and/or linux:
    http://forum.gbadev.org/viewtopic.php?t=12...der=asc&start=0

    Also I believe one or two of the emulators emulated the old CF supercards at one point (no no$GBA though), read up on the manuals.
     
  9. rafcor
    OP

    Newcomer rafcor Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Brazil
    i was able to open PuzzleManiak without problems with iDeaS, but the "touchscreen" isn't working at all, when it works, it look likes it's without calibration

    is anyone having this problem too?
     

Share This Page