playing GBA games in the lower screen

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Subt3xt, Feb 3, 2007.

Feb 3, 2007
  1. Subt3xt
    OP

    Newcomer Subt3xt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Hilo,

    I've done some searching for this and it appears that either a) my search-fu is weak, or b) the answer is too obvious to even merit a thread. So I'm asking [​IMG]

    I have a Supercard combo (SC Lite & Passkey) for my NDS Lite and they work great! I'm wondering, however, if there's a way to have it play the GBA games in the lower screen?

    advTHANKSance
     
  2. Monkey01

    Member Monkey01 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes, turn your DS on with no DS cart and no GBA cart in the slots (not necessary if you have autostart off).
    Now you will see the main screen when starting up (after touching through the health warning)
    Now click the very small DS Icon at the bottom of the screens. This will open the options menu.
    Now choose the purple tools icons "Options".
    From the new icons choose the GBA Icon "GBA Mode".
    Now choose Touch Screen and Confirm.
    Press Go Back, Quit, Yes, reïnsert your GBA cart and turn your DS on again.
    Now when you start a GBA game again it will show it on the Touch Screen...
     
  3. xabier

    Member xabier GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    Spain
    remove superkey, now look into the option menu, you can change were to play gba games in the console's firmware
     
  4. Subt3xt
    OP

    Newcomer Subt3xt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh, that's odd. I had it set like that before the Supercard arrived. It didn't occur to me that the software would reset it. I'll go check.

    Thanks all [​IMG]
     
  5. GBA_Temper

    Member GBA_Temper *KING OF GBATEMP*

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    Atlanta,Ga. United States
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah my DS OPTIONS Reset all the times because soon as NINTENDO released the FIRST nintendo ds I got me one in now mine is very OLD. So im looking for a DS LITE [​IMG]
     
  6. Subt3xt
    OP

    Newcomer Subt3xt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, that's not it. I checked the setting on my NDS and it was set for playing GBA games in the touch screen, like I'd assigned it back when I got the machine. I unchecked and re-checked the setting but it didn't make any difference: booting up a GBA game using the Supercard has it playing in the top screen.

    Ideas?
     
  7. jakie_chon

    Newcomer jakie_chon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Mexico
    Make sure you're booting the supercard in gba mode.

    Or uncheck the option in the ds options, reset the ds, and check it again.
     
  8. MrGizMo

    Member MrGizMo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Netherlands
    @Subt3xt :

    I had the same problem as you, also checked my NDS settings, and it was set for playing GBA games in the lower screen(aka touch screen)
    but it wont work.

    Maybe try this :

    Hmm, the way it worked for me is :

    take out the superkey.
    boot the ds on, and start GBA game.

    Then it goes to my supercard miniSD, choose the *.gba game
    and it plays in the lower screen [​IMG]
     
  9. Bali

    Member Bali GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Netherlands
    After reading all this, it seems to me that you don't even need the superkey / passcard if you only want to play gba games on the lower screen.
     
  10. MrGizMo

    Member MrGizMo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Netherlands

    maybe it is, dont know it for sure..
     
  11. diangelo

    Newcomer diangelo Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Australia
    If you only want to play GBA games then you dont need a passkey. That is why the m3 Lite and stuff works in a normal GBA remember. The passkey is just for the Slot 1 capability. Tested it just now and works perfectly but then when you put in passkey it adjusts to the top screen again. Must just be the way it works I guess.
     
  12. DJ-Arthur

    Newcomer DJ-Arthur Newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It's because when you access the GBA game from the passkey software, the Passkey software invokes the GBA chipset of the DS, telling it to play on the Top screen. This is programmed in the passkey and cannot be edited. Likewise, if you invoke the GBA chipset the regular way (like you would play a normal GBA casette) the DS Software invokes the GBA chipset with the settings saved in your Firmware configuration...

    By the way... Why do you need a Passkey for GBA roms? You need it only if you want to play DS Roms which are written on a GBA Cartridge... If you just play GBA Roms, don't use the Passkey and it shouldn't be a problem.
     

Share This Page