Playing Gamecube Backups

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by JohnBotkin, Dec 6, 2011.

Dec 6, 2011

Playing Gamecube Backups by JohnBotkin at 3:05 AM (2,354 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. JohnBotkin
    OP

    Newcomer JohnBotkin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Girlfriend funded bedroom
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a way to play GameCube back ups on a soft-modded Wii without installing anything to the Wii itself? Like maybe just an app you throw on the SD card or something. If it were possible, would it have to be burned to a disc or could it be played via SD card or HDD?
     
  2. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    This question has been asked so many times its almost trolling.
    Short answer: No you would have to at least install a hacked MIOS
     
  3. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    To play GameCube backups on a softmodded Wii, one needs to have a cMIOS installed and have an older disc drive. Newer disc drives cannot play backups of any kind.
     
  4. JohnBotkin
    OP

    Newcomer JohnBotkin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Girlfriend funded bedroom
    Country:
    United States
    My mistake, my psychic abilities are fucked all kinds of up today. Also, is this as simple as installing something like d2x? If so please point me to a way that will help me do it.
     
  5. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Assuming you have an older disc drive in order to play GameCube backups, yes. I recommend you use NeoGamma and install the recommended cMIOS.
     
  6. JohnBotkin
    OP

    Newcomer JohnBotkin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Girlfriend funded bedroom
    Country:
    United States
    My Wii is almost a year old and does that mean they can't be stored on SD card or HD?
     
  7. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Your Wii is likely too new to play GameCube backups without a WODE. With just a softmod, GameCube backups can only be played off backup DVDs.
     
  8. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    You could just read the forum a bit also.
     
  9. JohnBotkin
    OP

    Newcomer JohnBotkin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Girlfriend funded bedroom
    Country:
    United States
    Well then, any links to a tut that can show me how to get this done? I'll try anything if it's possible with my type of Wii and whatever. Thanks for the info
     
  10. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    I meant to say that your Wii was too new to play GameCube DVD backups, not too old. Anyway, since you likely cannot play DVD backups with your disc drive, your only options are to either get an older disc drive or buy a WODE.
     
  11. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,719
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland

    He can just as well use an SDGecko with SWISS or Dios Mios Lite with *great* results, the fact that he may not have a drive that supports backups does not mean he won't be able to play them off the Memory Card slot or the SD slot using certain tools. If anything, it looks like it's you guys who need to read the forum a bit more - WODE is not the only option, neiter are "burned" discs so don't be Mr.Smarty Pants, don't complain and just answer his question to the best of your abilities.
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. JohnBotkin
    OP

    Newcomer JohnBotkin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Girlfriend funded bedroom
    Country:
    United States
    Foxi thanks for those methods and after I've read a little on how to do these, I've come to the conclusion that I am simply better off not trying to do it. I'd need some equipment I don't currently possess and maybe a little more know-how with Wii hacking in general. Thanks again.
     
  13. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,719
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Dios Mios Lite requires no extra equipment at all, just SNEEK+DI installed on your Wii. There's a ton of tutorials on how to prepare a Wii to use SNEEK, it shouldn't take you more than an hour to set it up.

    It also saves your Wii from all possible NAND damage, since it uses emulated NAND = Virtually Unbrickable.
     
  14. JohnBotkin
    OP

    Newcomer JohnBotkin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Girlfriend funded bedroom
    Country:
    United States
    Well I just did a quick read through that one, I'll find a good tut and see if I can't make some magic happen. I don't really need to do this, I just thought "I already modded the damn thing, why not see what all i can do to it without breaking it." lol
     
  15. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,719
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    I see. Well, at least you have your answer:

    Hardware Methods: SDGecko, WODE

    Software Methods: Dios Mios Lite, Neogamma (If drive is compatible)

    That's it, nothing else was done in the field.
     
    1 person likes this.
  16. Patryc

    Member Patryc GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    452
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Also Wiikey Fusion & Flatmii Fusion working well. :D
     

Share This Page