Emulator Play Skylanders on PC without the portal!

TheBiemGamer

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 30, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
53
Country
Netherlands
DISCLAIMER: ALL GAMES WORK BUT GIANTS WORKS THE BEST IF YOU HAVE A PORTAL AND WANT TO PLAY THE NEWER GAMES SMOOTHLY I RECOMMEND CHECKING OUT MY OTHER THREAD ON HOW TO PLAY SKYLANDERS WITH A PORTAL ON PC (https://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-play-skylanders-on-pc-with-a-portal-of-power.589389/)

Requirements:
- Winrar or 7zip | https://www.win-rar.com/ or https://www.7-zip.org/
- RPCS3 | https://rpcs3.net/
- Skylanders PS3 Rom | Dump on your PlayStation (Or pirate)
- VC runtime | https://support.microsoft.com/en-us...ownloads-2647da03-1eea-4433-9aff-95f26a218cc0
- Vulkan Runtime | https://vulkan.lunarg.com/sdk/home (Only download if RPCS3 gives a Vulkan DDL error)
- PlayStation 3 firmware | https://www.playstation.com/en-us/support/hardware/ps3/system-software/ or alternative link: https://mega.nz/file/2Y5SmRaR#c0k-y0MUdpRXVz3QMTZTZZJ9pdjtK3vxBDSrTNsxnOI
- And a decent computer

Basic written tutorial:
Step 1. Download and Install Winrar or 7zip
Step 2. Download RPCS3 and unpack it somewhere
Step 3. Download or dump a Skylanders PS3 rom
Step 4. Download and install VC Runtime
Step 5. (Optional only if you get Vulkan DLL error in RPCS3) Download and install Vulkan runtime
Step 6. Download PlayStation 3 firmware
Step 7. Run RPCS3 and go to "File" -> "Install Firmware" and navigate to the firmware you downloaded
Step 8. Click the Config button and disable "Enable SPU loop detection" (Messes with the audio)
Step 9. Goto the GPU tab and if you can set the renderer to Vulkan and Graphics Device to your video card
Step 10. Set the Framelimit to 60
Step 11. Set default resolution if your pc can handle it to 1920x1080 (Only matters for the newer games)
Step 12. Click apply and save
Step 13. Click open and navigate to the Skylanders rom you downloaded
Step 14. Play the game
Step 15. When the game asks you to put a Skylander on the portal goto "Manage" -> "Skylanders Portal"
Step 16. Click create at Skylander 1 now pick a Skylander from the dropdown menu and click create save this file somewhere where you will be able to find it again (Like Documents/Skylanders)
Step 17. Now you can repeat step 16 to make other Skylanders and click the load button to open the Skylander files you made so that it saves your coins and upgrades
Step 18. Enjoy
If you get stuck somewhere in this tutorial try watching the tutorial video.

Fix crashes:
Right-click the Skylanders game and "Create Custom Configuration"
And disable "Enable SPU loop detection"
If you have an Intel Core i3 or i5 I would recommend turning on "Lower SPU thread priority"
And go into "Advanced" and set the "Driver Wake-Up Delay" to 200
And click Apply & Save custom configuration
You can also go into "Configuration" then GPU
And try both Vulkan API and OpenGL as renderers and see with which you get better results.
It shouldn't crash anymore know if you have a good enough pc!

A tutorial video (With an in-depth installation process of the tutorial above, gameplay and a guide on how to use the Skylander emulator):

If anyone still has questions feel free to ask me!
 
Last edited by TheBiemGamer, , Reason: Link removed, please don't link to warez sites

PrimordialSun

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 2, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
23
Country
United States
Im having issues with Spyros adventure. I encounter massive lag spikes lasting over ten seconds where the audio continues as if everything were fine, but the visuals freeze. On the few occasions where the video starts playing again, it seems to try to catch up the the character dialogue without speeding up. I can barely make it past summoning my skylander as it freezes mere seconds after words, making the game unplayable. Help?
Edit: And now Giants is crashing randomly, after having worked so well for two hours.
 
Last edited by PrimordialSun,

TheBiemGamer

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 30, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
53
Country
Netherlands
Im having issues with Spyros adventure. I encounter massive lag spikes lasting over ten seconds where the audio continues as if everything were fine, but the visuals freeze. On the few occasions where the video starts playing again, it seems to try to catch up the the character dialogue without speeding up. I can barely make it past summoning my skylander as it freezes mere seconds after words, making the game unplayable. Help?
Edit: And now Giants is crashing randomly, after having worked so well for two hours.
Sorry for the late response but to fix crashes in Giants you will need to follow the steps below:
Right-click the Skylanders game and "Create Custom Configuration"
And disable "Enable SPU loop detection"
If you have an Intel Core i3 or i5 I would recommend turning on "Lower SPU thread priority"
And go into "Advanced" and set the "Driver Wake-Up Delay" to 200
And click Apply & Save custom configuration
You can also go into "Configuration" then GPU And try both Vulkan API and OpenGL as renderers and see with which you get better results.
It shouldn't crash anymore know if you have a good enough pc!
 

ajc00786

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 11, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
6
Country
United Kingdom
how would you create a character for the portal when using skylanders swap force since it only says the bottom or top thank you! oh i just figured it out you just put it underneath it thank you for the tutorial though!
 
Last edited by ajc00786,
  • Like
Reactions: TheBiemGamer

CodyMacd68007

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 26, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
2
Country
Canada
/quote What about Skylanders Trap Team how would i use the traps

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Hey What about trap force does the skylander manager let you use traps
 

TheBiemGamer

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 30, 2021
Messages
7
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
53
Country
Netherlands
/quote What about Skylanders Trap Team how would i use the traps

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Hey What about trap force does the skylander manager let you use traps
I Think so but i haven't tried cause I my pc is too bad to run trap team but I can try one time

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

im trying to play trap team and it just keeps freezing when im trying to boot it.
That's probably because RPCS3 is very badly optimised for all skylanders games except Giants so you'll need a very good pc to run the other games
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: MacMiller was better