Pikmin 2 backup not working.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Midna, Jul 30, 2008.

Jul 30, 2008

Pikmin 2 backup not working. by Midna at 7:08 PM (4,285 Views / 0 Likes) 26 replies

  1. Midna
    OP

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    So, I've burned a PAL copy of pikmin 2 (my wii is ntsc-u) for my d2pro. When I insert the disk, the gamecube logo shows on the wii disk channel, but when I press start, I just get a black screen. what's the problem? bad burn? bad iso? bad media? in truth I don't know what kind of disk I used, the label was blank.

    PS: I am using a mac and used disk utility for the burn
     


  2. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bad burn/bad media.
     
  3. Midna
    OP

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    Also, can someone translate this? it came with the iso:

    *************************************************************
    [GC] Pikmin 2 [PAL]
    ************************************************************

    - Genero: Puzzle
    - TamaÒo de la ISO: 1,35 Gb
    - MÈtodo de grabaciÛn: Grabar con CloneCD, CloneDVD o Imgburn
    - Soporte Ûptico: Utiliza discos de calidad (Ridisc, Ritek)
    - MÈtodo de carga: Hace falta tener instalado modchip. Insertar como juego original.
    - Testeado con Cyclowiz
    - Algunos modchip requeriran el uso de GCOS.


    It says something about GCOS, so maybe that means I must use GCOS to boot it. How do you use GCOS anyway?
     
  4. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. BiscuitCookie

    Member BiscuitCookie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Netherlands, Gelderland
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ************************************************** ***********
    [GC] Pikmin 2 [PAL]
    ************************************************** **********

    -- Genre: Puzzle
    -- Size of ISO: 1.35 Gb
    -- Method of Burning: Burn with CloneCD, CloneDVD or Imgburn
    -- Support Ûptico: Use quality discs (Ridisc, Ritek)
    -- Charging method: You need to have a installed modchip. Insert as the original game.
    -- Test with Cyclowiz
    -- Some modchip require the use of GCOS.

    EDIT: damn you living in a box
     
  6. Midna
    OP

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    So I do need GCOS? Well could someone tell me how? The less I have to use Windoze the better. my PC box just broke down.
     
  7. BiscuitCookie

    Member BiscuitCookie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Netherlands, Gelderland
    Country:
    Netherlands
    depends on your modchip so what modchip do you have?
     
  8. Midna
    OP

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    wel, as stated before, I have a D2Pro9
     
  9. BiscuitCookie

    Member BiscuitCookie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Netherlands, Gelderland
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You do not need GeckoOS
     
  10. Midna
    OP

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    We were talking about GameCubeOS, or are that and GeckoOS the same? I'm confused...
     
  11. BiscuitCookie

    Member BiscuitCookie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Netherlands, Gelderland
    Country:
    Netherlands
    and doesn't require gamecube os [​IMG]
     
  12. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nooooooo!


    GeckoOS = Wiigames
    GCOS - Gamecube Operating System. = GC games.

    But I think still it's bad burn.
     
  13. Midna
    OP

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    Well, I burned again with vrebatum dvds, but still no luck. Could someone pkease explain GCOS to me?
     
  14. Wuschmaster

    Member Wuschmaster GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    515
    Country:
    United States
    "Came with the iso"? [​IMG]
    That doesn't sound like a backup... more like a downloaded pirate copy. [​IMG]
     
  15. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And? So?
     
  16. Wuschmaster

    Member Wuschmaster GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    515
    Country:
    United States
    legal VS ILLEGAL I guess [​IMG]
    I thought this website is LEGAL?
     
  17. Midna
    OP

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    I used to own an original copy of pikmin 2. then it broke so I couldn't make a back up, so I decided to download it. Pretty much a backup.
     
  18. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Eeem...
    Scene releases
    Wii hacking
    DS flash devices
    GBA flashing

    Legal? GBATEMP? [​IMG]
     
  19. Relys

    Member Relys Master of Computer Science

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    860
    Country:
    United States
    Pikmin 2 is getting hard to find now anyways.

    I got lucky and picked mine up a year ago for $20 new.
     
  20. Midna
    OP

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    Please, could someone explain GCOS to me. someone on wiinewz was having my exact problem and fixed it by using GCOS. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page