Pictures of Dingux emulators run on iSmartLinux

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by tysong, May 4, 2011.

May 4, 2011
  1. tysong
    OP

    Newcomer tysong Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Spain
    The following gives some pictures of partial emulators.
    Of course, I am very happy to see you try them yourself.
    Report bugs and suggestions for improvement are welcomed.


    Pictures of Dingux emulators run on iSmartLinux.7z:

    http://www.fileserve.com/file/sJeb9VR
     
  2. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Thanks Tysong. I uploaded them to imageshack :

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]


    My main concern about ismartlinux is the TF corruption. When i check it with the dos command chkdsk, it often find me lost chains or bad FAT entries.
    I use a Transcend 4GB Korea (samsung made) class 6 in FAT32 with 32KB cluster size.

    The second problem is the downscaling from 320x240 (dingoo resolution) to 256 x192 (DS resolution). Mainly we can't read text on the screen.
    Is it possible to use a different downscaling. Maybe a bicubic interpolation ?

    And last, the touchscreen is not used at all for now, maybe you plan to use it in a later version ?
    Perhaps to display a bash console ? or the boot sequence?
     
  3. tysong
    OP

    Newcomer tysong Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Spain
    Thanks your work and advice, Mbmax.

    For your first question, I do not find, let me test to see.

    For the second problem, the NDS hardware scaling is used now.
    Fast speed, but the disadvantage is that it occupys NDS too much memory (512 * 256 * 2 bytes).
    With CPU scaling, although the NDS will not take too much memory, but scaling takes too much CPU time, and the scaling effect is not good enough.
    So there is no a good solution to this problem.

    For the last question, the software for compatibility dingux, I do not intend to use the touchscreen,
    and the boot sequence also can be displayed on the upper screen. Now all the boot sequence output from the serial port.
     
  4. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  5. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
  6. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    Wait so ca we use any Dingoo software with this?
     
  7. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Sure ! it's the purpose of this plugin. [​IMG]

    I just added vice 64 to the dmenu and launched it :

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  8. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd love to try this out, but I have DSTwo instead of iSmart [​IMG] If anyone can do a [very] quick trade, I'd be more than happy to swap my CycloDSi (aka iEvo) for an iSmart, PM me, or replay here.
     
  9. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    So any Dingoo software like PSX4ALl willl boot up on this?
     
  10. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I just tried it and the PS bios start but the emulator hangs just after.
    On my dingoo it's ok.

    Time to report this bug.
     
  11. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    I got a PSX game to work...Mind you it wasn't particularly the most exciting thing I've ever played in my life, but it's a lot easier getting a perfect KO on Bloody Roar II than it should have been, but at least the battle didn't take an hour to finish.
    A variety of the stuff that I tried worked (I got that nxengine to work, it was never a perfect thing to begin with, but at least it's playable) and a variety of other things just failed. There is also a small minority of things that I tried that worked, but were too slow to really be enjoyable.
     
  12. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yeah JP. But PSX4all is slow also on my dingoo. I will make a video comparing both like i did for the ds and dsi mode on ievo.
    BTW, i was able to start some psx games but they freeze after a while.
    Maybe it's tied to the fact i use a microSDHC ?
     
  13. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just got my iSmartMM so it's time to try to get Dingux working and then it's on to UAE4All.
     
  14. Buleste

    Member Buleste Old Fart

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    852
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Now I've managed to get iSmartLinux running I've been doing some tests of the C64 emulation using Wizball as an example.

    FrodoDingoo 0.2 = The worst performer. Sound was poor and graphics garbled.
    DingooVICE 2.2 = Graphics fine but sound was skipping when the SID emulation was being pushed to the limits.
    FrodoDS = best performer as sound and graphics were perfect.

    However DingooVICE has just gone native and runs much faster. However as it's a Native O/S and not dependant on Linux then it could be more easily ported to either the SCDS2 or if the SDK ever gets released the iSmartMM (although I don't think the iSMM has enough grunt).
     

Share This Page