Picodrive 0.15 released

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by FAST6191, Aug 24, 2006.

Aug 24, 2006

Picodrive 0.15 released by FAST6191 at 10:21 AM (1,896 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. FAST6191
    OP

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,738
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The original thread is a bit cluttered so I thought I would post it here, it has been released with a large changelog.
    Grab it here:
    http://www.cryptosystem.org/

    Changelog:
    Code:
    PicoDriveDS 0.1.5 is up! Changes:
    
    Â Â* Added support for appended ROMs. This should allow users with carts not supported by gba_nds_fat to use PicoDriveDS. Simply append a ROM to the PicoDriveDS binary, and it will run it (on *nix systems this can be done with “cat romname.ext >> picodriveds.ext”, on Windows with “copy /b picodriveds.ext+romname.ext picodriveds-withrom.ext”, substituting the appropriate filenames of course). You can only append one ROM at a time. In this mode, Genesis SRAM will be saved to GBA SRAM. Some patchers may work correctly with this and save the SRAM to your removable media, I have only been able to test with the EZ4 Lite software.
    Â Â* Fixed M3 reset code, added M3SD Mini insertion detection code (untested, may not work)
    Â Â* Massive code restructure and cleanup (though some cleanup is still in progress)
    Â Â* Added save state support, accessed via the X button. Due to the current size of the save states, this is only supported for FAT devices and is disabled in appended ROM mode. Currently there is only one save state per ROM (saved to romname.pds). This is still a very experimental feature and save states may not be compatible with future versions of PicoDriveDS.
    The source is also available should you so desire.

    Initial reports say it is a great update.
     
  2. Squiffy

    Member Squiffy GBATemp's Little Embarrassment

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,192
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    And for anyone who doesn't know what picodrive is, it's a genesis emu for ds.
     
  3. retrohead

    Member retrohead GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Still waiting fr this to get a drastic improvement. It is still a far cry better than any SNES emu at th eminute though [​IMG]
     
  4. mortys

    Newcomer mortys Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    France
    I confirm this version is worth the download. Thunder FOrce 4 works and run at a playable speed. There's some work for a perfect speed but i'think (I'm not a coder) taht's it's possible to have fullspeed. I just wondering if Picodrive use the second proc. If not, we can expect full speed with full sound [​IMG]
     
  5. hammydude

    Newcomer hammydude Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    does this version of picodrive finally have sound?
     
  6. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    No sound, but it is indeed progress. Great job!
     
  7. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    No it doesn't use the ARM7. Source: Interview with the Picodrive developer.
     
  8. saxamo

    Member saxamo Spaaaaace!

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    775
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I don't...understand the appending of the ROM's...? Like I get it, but i don 't. On my g6, when I simply put the .smd in the root, I get the load file sceen, with an arrow, and nothing more..


    Never mind, I get it. I'll write up a tutorial cause this was hard.
     
  9. bigboy85zz

    Newcomer bigboy85zz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    please do. or explain it to me, because i dont understand at all.
     
  10. saxamo

    Member saxamo Spaaaaace!

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    775
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    Yes this is on my list of to do. But basically plug in everything in the command prompt in windows (found by going to start>run>cmd>enter)

    But i'll get back to this I swear! this week!
     
  11. MADKATZ99

    Member MADKATZ99 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    AUS
    Country:
    Australia
    Your having what for dinner?
    I dont follow. A mega drive emulator would be sweet. If only I knew what everything meant.
     

Share This Page