Ryukouki

See you later, guys.
OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hey guys,

I'm looking to start learning how to utilize photoshop sometime this year to fulfill a hobby endeavor and maybe expand it to a professional endeavor once I've acquired enough of the skills and techniques. Any idea where to start learning based on personal experiences? :) Cheers.

Reactions: Zerousen

Zerousen

【=◈︿◈=】
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I started using photoshop several years ago, and although I'm no professional, I believe that I've become fairly competent in using it without very much instruction or effort. I've taken a couple of high school level classes for it, however the things that I've learned were things that I honestly have already known how to do from playing around with photoshop on my own, or watching tutorials on youtube. A channel that I quite particularly like is called "Phlearn Photoshop and Photography tutorials". Adobe also has their own tutorials you can find here.

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Well I have been using GIMP and the occasional bit of inkscape for most of what I have been doing but hey. Some of the photoshop peeps dislike gimp and it is not MS office vs Libre office of much the same capabilities (photoshop is very much the superior program) but you can get most of the way there on gimp, especially if you think through things (photoshop's layers as undo history thing is great, nothing stopping you from making a new layer in gimp though).

+1 to phlearn
https://www.youtube.com/user/PhlearnLLC
They are a soft sell for a paid tutorials site but I imagine you have probably teased out the contents of a paid journal article before from free abstracts and whatever else before now. Same difference really.

The above is an example of them at their best. They also released one of their paid tutorials (a star wars themed one)