Hacking Phantasy Star Portable 2 Infinity - English Translation

Lunar.Fennec

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 2, 2016
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
30
XP
33
Country
United States
I'm very curious to know as well. I've actually ended up learning Japanese for real in the time that it's taken the project to get this far (What can I say, I couldn't wait. xD)... but I've been holding off on actually playing until PPSSPP gets it working in Multimode. But maybe it'd be better if someone just put up an official request on the PPSSPP github. xP
You mean the infinite load screen? It's apparently only an issue with certain people running Windows 7, which I've personally confirmed. I couldn't run it on Windows 7 Home Premium, but another friend could. A few nights ago I upgraded to Windows 10 and that problem is now gone, so I don't think there are any plans to fix this little bug.

EDIT:
Read back through a few posts and saw this was already stated, so sorry for pointing it out again.
 
Last edited by Lunar.Fennec,

Colto22

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 2, 2016
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
21
Country
United States
I am new here, so can someone tell me if this translation will include the part of the game that was original the North American release of Phantasy Star Portable 2? I would rather pickup an import copy of the game if so because it is MUCH cheaper!
 

Laskeri

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 21, 2015
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
59
Country
United States
I am new here, so can someone tell me if this translation will include the part of the game that was original the North American release of Phantasy Star Portable 2? I would rather pickup an import copy of the game if so because it is MUCH cheaper!

Yes, PSP2i includes PSP2's story as 'Episode 1' of its story mode.
 

Illuvial

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Aug 3, 2016
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
31
Country
United States
This is super rad, wow, can't wait to see the finished product, definitely gonna follow this one. As for being able to play this on PSP, is this going to be a PPSSPP specific iso (I only ask because of the texture upgrade talks going on here) or will I be able to just put the roms or ISO itself on my system and run with it. I have an imported copy of PSP2i for collection purposes, and I doubt there would be a way to make the English patch UMD compatible in some way, but even if I had to just use a iso I'd be fine with that
 

Fefo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
248
Trophies
0
XP
458
Country
Brazil
The english patch should work on a softmodded PSP, but UMD "live-patches" are probably out of question. The texture talk has very little to do with the translation, don't worry.
 

Nessly

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 28, 2006
Messages
21
Trophies
0
XP
369
Country
United States
Taking the liberty to quote myself.
Is anyone willing to try this? It would help me out since I need to reference things in some multi-mode only missions but I can't get past that loading bug.
A while back when I was using Win7 some of my machines had that issue. AFter upgrading to Win8 (on the same machines), the issue went away.

I reformatted my computers JUST for this game and to do testing a while back. Fresh Win7 installations on some PCs had the issue while fresh Win7 installations on other machines didn't work. Couldn't nail down the exact issue, but I've yet to experience the issue on any of my machines after upgrading to Win8/10, nor have I heard of others having the issue on Win8/10.
 

Weyu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2014
Messages
197
Trophies
0
XP
2,359
Country
Netherlands
Do you have the possibility of testing what that guy wrote? (i.e. downloading the software on win8 and transferring it to win7)

Would be good if we can nail down what exactly causes the issue.
 

Weyu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2014
Messages
197
Trophies
0
XP
2,359
Country
Netherlands
Update:
Things have been quiet around here but progress is still being made as always.
To give some concrete stats: I've finished translating the entire Infinity base content, excluding the DLC.
A majority of that I've already QCed multiple times, but a good ~30% I still need to review in the game itself (a new patch needs to be built).
To clarify (since this gets asked every time): that does not mean the patch is ready, and it will only be released when it is fully done and checked.

I've been working on the DLC for a while now, which is over half done as well, but I still need to QC all of it in the game.
By this point I'm very familiar with how the control codes and the various kinds of typesetting etc. go, so I don't expect too many problems from this end.

We also still need to make subtitles for the in-game movies, but there aren't that many of them. We need to get them to work on PPSSPP as well.


The main issue that threw a monkey wrench into our schedule is that we ran into some major tech issues, but Jam is working on solving them.
Maybe he will elaborate a bit on what he's been doing.

How you can help: I'm still looking for someone that can try the above method to get multiplayer working on PPSSPP Windows 7 so I can actually test the multi-only missions myself.
If you're running a dual boot or if you know someone that runs the other OS and you can try it, please do.
 

archnachoofthepi

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
79
Trophies
0
XP
310
Country
United States
Weyu, I'd like to volunteer my assistance. I have a Windows 7 PC that I can access with strong specs (devil's canyon i7 processor, gtx 980, etc.) to test this with. I'll be back from my trip tomorrow morning, and when I leave the office I'll test this out for you. I also have the option of testing on Windows 10 and Mac if you're interested.
 

Weyu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2014
Messages
197
Trophies
0
XP
2,359
Country
Netherlands
That would be great, thanks.
I'm mostly looking for someone to verify that W8 -> W7 thing though, since I'm using W7 myself and that seems to be the main OS that doesn't work with MP.
 

archnachoofthepi

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
79
Trophies
0
XP
310
Country
United States
So I tested a number of different settings and builds, and unfortunately I was never able to get the multiplayer to work on Windows 7. I tried three different builds of the adhoc enabled ppsspp, and tried transferring it from Windows 8, 8.1 and 10. Each build had the infinite loading glitch; I was able to get the four players into the hub, but when I tried to load a mission it loaded forever.

Trying the same builds on my Windows 10 laptop I was able to play successfully. I'll try to mess around with a few other options. Theoretically if the emulator can work successfully on one Windows 7 PC we should be able to package that build/configuration in a rar archive that would work successfully for other Windows 7 gamers.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Weyu

Weyu

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2014
Messages
197
Trophies
0
XP
2,359
Country
Netherlands
Theoretically if the emulator can work successfully on one Windows 7 PC we should be able to package that build/configuration in a rar archive that would work successfully for other Windows 7 gamers.

Exactly, I was thinking the same thing.
Too bad you didn't get it to work (yet). I didn't think that method would work since it's the exact same download, but the only difference I could guess at was that his W8 had some kind of different software installed that resulted in generating a different config file which he transferred to W7 or something.

Hopefully you can figure out through trial and error what that guy did, but this problem has literally been around for years apparently.
 

Valduran

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
59
Country
United States
I should probably note that I actually DID have it working in MP for a brief period on Win7 32-bit. But then I upgraded to 64-bit and it's never worked since.
 

archnachoofthepi

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
79
Trophies
0
XP
310
Country
United States
Doing some more digging and theorizing, if a handful of people were able to make it work while others couldn't I'm curious if there's a specific patch state or service pack or even version of Windows 7 used that got the game working properly.

I've got a few spare hard drives (I'm an IT specialist by day) so this weekend I'm going to see about rigging up some virtual machines I can use as test environments. I figure as I have down time throughout the day I can test different builds of the OS and see if I can narrow down a setup that will work.
 

Alexdev

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 4, 2016
Messages
32
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
68
Country
Been following this project for awhile now. I was too lazy to make an account XD Anyway I want to say Keep up the Good work guys and goodluck for future projects!!
 

Laskeri

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 21, 2015
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
59
Country
United States
I don't have w8/10 so I cannot be much help in testing for a working configuration. If a solution is found, perhaps it can be fixed on PPSSPP's side of things?
 

Fefo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
248
Trophies
0
XP
458
Country
Brazil
Probably, unless the code sucks.

Does someone use Reddit? Lots of devs hang on r/emulation, including PPSSPP devs. Maybe you can get some help there, be it a fix or other games who misbehave like that.
 

Valduran

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 20, 2015
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
59
Country
United States
This is something that needs to be fixed in PPSSPP itself yeah. The problem is that the devs are fairly slow to implement game-specific fixes. For example, it took several years for them to fix the graphics depth-drawing bug that existed in PSP2 which was super problematic and much more high-profile than this since it affected every single user.

In this case, the problem with Windows 7 and PSP2 has been mentioned quite often on the official PPSSPP forums, but it's hard to say whether or not they are aware or care at this point. Best way to get their attention is likely opening an issue on github, but I'm not familiar enough with github or the PPSSPP policy regarding issues to do so myself. Multiplayer specific issues also seem to be a bit of a low priority for them unfortunately.
 

Fefo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
248
Trophies
0
XP
458
Country
Brazil
Game-specific fixes often hide the problem instead of fixing it, no surprise if they shy away for it. The feature also warns you about it's spotty functionality, on Android I couldn't even get into the hub.

Hopefully someone knowledgeable can find a workaround. If not, welp.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Mini Smartphone iLight 11 Pro The World's Smallest 11 Pro Android Mobile Phone, Super Small...