Patching

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by Falkentyne, Aug 4, 2006.

Aug 4, 2006

Patching by Falkentyne at 3:45 AM (793 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Falkentyne
    OP

    Member Falkentyne GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    Always wanted to ask:

    Why do NDS dumps require patching in order to run in the G6/L ? Even your own dumps?
     
  2. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    gotta tell where the game is located
     
  3. Falkentyne
    OP

    Member Falkentyne GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry if I'm being dense, but what do you mean by "where it's located?".
    If you copy the raw dump directly to the NDS folder, it sees everything there...

    I made a raw dump of my castlevania dos cart, and it wouldn't run until I copied it over using the manager....
     
  4. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the game isnt run from the ds slot, so it needs some routines patched so it will work from the gba slot.

    we will have to wait for a flash card that goes into the ds slot to play raw dumps [​IMG]
     
  5. Falkentyne
    OP

    Member Falkentyne GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    Ah that makes perfect sense now.

    Why don't any flash cards use the DS slot currently, if that's a problem ? Is it because of some sort of protection? Or the GBA slot is a lot easier to work with ?
     
  6. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    Protection has been broken already (see Neo brand adapters), the reason is the latter.
     

Share This Page