Hacking PassWe 3 vs. Passcard 3

slvrdrgn123

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
172
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
135
Country
United States
I will be buying my first flash kit and was wondering which passme device would be better. From the PassWe 3 review, it seems to be a very good device, but is there any real difference from any of the other passme's. Also, one of the threads said that it doesn't boot up the normal screen, is that true?

Was thinking of getting:

M3 Lite + Passcard 3 bundle

http://www.gamersection.ca/product_info.ph...65p64bfa82ebdj7

or

M3 Lite + PassWe 3
http://www.gamersection.ca/product_info.ph...products_id=289
http://www.gamersection.ca/product_info.ph...products_id=287

Thanks.
 

Heinrisch

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2006
Messages
297
Trophies
0
Age
35
Website
Visit site
XP
155
Country
Either pass device works, I would go with the cheaper one. I don't really understand what you mean with the "normal screen." I think that as long as a boot device works, it is good, and since they are in a boundle, they should work.
 

slvrdrgn123

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2006
Messages
172
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
135
Country
United States
I can't seem to find any Passcard 4 on the site. Where are they sold at?

And by normal screen, I mean the normal DS boot screen. Someone said that the PassWe 3 boots up its own screen instead of the DS screen.

Thanks for the replies.

Also, anyone have any idea when Acekard is coming out? it seems to be the best option since it doesn't require a passme card and uses micro SD also. I'm willing to wait if it's coming out in a few months.
 

apelete

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
51
Country
France
The Passwe 3 does not seem to boot to DS main menu.
I have already bought two of them, and they DO NOT boot to the main menu. They directly boot the flashcart without any splash screen instead.
I do not know where shaunj got his Passwe from when he did the review, but none of my two Passwe act as his'...
frown.gif
 

Topsy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2006
Messages
105
Trophies
0
XP
47
Country
Canada
I sure would like to understand this whole passcard thing and know what you're getting when you order it...

How come Shaunj's review Passwe 3 boots to the menu? Yet, others don't?

I have an EZPass 3 that I got in August. It boots to the menu if the DS is set to "manual mode". I just received a second EZPass 3 from kick trading this week (expecting it to be the same as the first) and it doesn't boot to the menu (just like apelete's passwe 3s).

I had a Passcard 3 before and it wouldn't boot to the menu iether, but there is a video of a Passcard 3 booting to the DS menu a few threads lower.... WTF is going on?

Are they all using the same passcards, but with a different label and some have splash screens enabled?

My main concern is I would love to know which type is the NEWEST technology. I believe it is the type that boots to the menu and this was done for compatability reasons.

There was an update put out by G6 recently (4.5a) that would lock up the G6 Lite with a Passcard 3 that didn't boot to the menu - any other passcard worked. G6 fixed this quickly with another update, but was the problem due to the older type Passcard 3s? Will there be more issues with this type of passcard?

Kick trading e-mailed me the following explanation when I asked about this. "You state you enjoy the way the first EZPass3 works and wish that the second one we sent functioned the same. Sadly it does not, this is something the EZFlash team decided to do in their design.".

I thought the passcards that show up in the DS menu are the newer design? Kick is saying it's the other way around?
 

Bowser128

King Koopa
Member
Joined
May 26, 2006
Messages
506
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
England
Website
Visit site
XP
141
Country
The Passwe 3 does not seem to boot to DS main menu.
I have bought two of them alreday, and they DO NOT boot to the main menu. They directly boot the flashcart without any splash screen instead.
I do not know where shaunj got his Passwe from when he did the review, but none of my two Passwe act as his'...
frown.gif
My PassWe doesn't boot into the DS boot menu either, I would like Shaunj66's input on this. Aside from that minor niggle though the PassWe is a good NoPass because it does the job without any messing with a 'splash screen' etc.
 

shaunj66

GBAtemp Administrator
Administrator
Joined
Oct 24, 2002
Messages
11,422
Trophies
2
Age
37
Location
South England
Website
www.gbatemp.net
XP
15,862
Country
United Kingdom
Very weird guys because mine does boot to the menu.
frown.gif


Option is right there as it was in the review.

My PassWe3 came from shop.01media.com - they should have them in stock and should probably be the same versions as mine.
 

Topsy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2006
Messages
105
Trophies
0
XP
47
Country
Canada
@shaun hmmm, I thought the same about my EZPass 3's... Assumed I would get the same one if I ordered from the same place I got the first?

@fischju thanks. That's interesting. On my EZPass 3 that shows in the DS menu, if I hold "start" and the DS is set to "automatic mode" then it does indeed go to the DS menu and not boot the flashcard (M3 Lite/g6 Lite) - select does nothing.

On my EZPass that can't get to/show in the DS menu, start & select do nothing.

It looks like the only way to get to the DS menu with the "autoboot flashcard" passcards is to remove the passcard from the DS?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Yeah, to load from (and save data to) an SD card plugged into the serial port.
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    You test that extension thing through a regular usb reader on your pc? Could just be a shit one. Bought one for my 3d printer and it just straight up doesn't work
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    it can't be plugged into a USB reader (it's made from a regular SD card to USB adapter, but with the USB end modded to a Dreamcast serial plug)
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    It was working fine before I installed the GDEMU, but now the Dreamcast doesn't recognize it when I boot up Dreamshell.
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    ahhh I gotcha. yeah haven't looked at it that much so I'm not super familiar with the hardware
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Can't find any threads about this particular issue on GBAtemp or the wider intarwebz. Saw one video on YouTube that seemed relevant, but it was some dude with the same issue, no solutions offered in the comments. :/
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    my teacher was showing me something and i noticed they had gbatemp open in another window
    Gift
  • SpazzyShinobi @ SpazzyShinobi:
    when worlds collide
    +1
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Your teacher is ONE OF US... ONE OF US...
    +2
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    they could be in this very chat, they could be any one of us
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    InB4 "Julie, get back to work on your homework, that assignment is due tomorrow."
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    god damn no one ever wants to talk to me but the MOMENT i start studying everyone got shit to say to me
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    (not you guys tho, you guys are cool :)
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    fuck how do i use emoticons within parenthesis
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    i left out the closing bracket but that just looks incomplete
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    https://gbatemp.net/chat/message/110146/view
    Imagine if that teacher was, I dunno, pingpong or DinohScene or some other mod or admin...that'd be something, huh.
    +1
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The teacher just wanted to know what kind of perverted debauchery Julie was watching on the school computer instead of studying.
    +2
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    what? no, i totalllyyyyy do all my schoolwork
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    aw, who am i kidding, if i did my work i wouldnt be talking to you guys right now
    +1
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Freezer6 @ Freezer6:
    That's right @Julie_Pilgrim
    +2
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    are there people out there actually insane enough to pay $20/month for photoshop
    Gift
  • Chaosta @ Chaosta:
    considering theres people out there who pay to watch anime. yeah.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    If your job involves Photoshop, $20 is not much.
    Gift
    Veho @ Veho: If your job involves Photoshop, $20 is not much.