passme, wifime.... infectme?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by jaxter, Jul 6, 2006.

Jul 6, 2006

passme, wifime.... infectme? by jaxter at 10:35 PM (1,287 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. jaxter
    OP

    Newcomer jaxter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    As I understand there's two methods to get code (like flashme, or homebrews) to execute on a not-yet-flashed DS.

    One is with a device like passme (or the newer cards), the other with wifime.

    But all wifime does is send the target DS a program to execute. And we know that's how store demos and multiplayer(single cart) games work - the source DS sends the target DS a program which it executes.

    Wouldn't it be possible to write code (let's call it "infectme") that runs on the source, lets you pick a DS executable, and send it wirelessly to the target DS which would then execute it?

    Possible uses:

    1. Getting flashme to run on a new DS without a passme (of course you still have to short SL1, etc)
    2. Showing a random person, who doesn't even know about the homebrew scene, a game you (or somebody else) wrote - just upload it to their DS.
    etc etc.

    Is this possible? Has it already been done? Is it a stupid question?

    Note: I sometimes write stuff for PCs, nothing for the DS yet...
     
  2. corbs132

    Member corbs132 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    853
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    already thought of. the recieving ds's wont accept the executable, because the wifi executabnles have nintendo headers and the encryption hasnt been broken yet
     
  3. jaxter
    OP

    Newcomer jaxter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    How come this isn't an issue with wifime?

    Also: do we know at least the algorithm/strength of the encryption used? If it's, say, 64 bit it might be possible to brute-force it (it would still take a few months/years!) but with 128 bit or more, forget it.
     
  4. OrR

    Member OrR Rice-megatron Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Hildesheim/Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    WifiMe doesn't work with newer firmware versions.
     
  5. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,454
    Featured Posts:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you are interested in all of this (how it works and why it does not work for some) here is a pretty good list explaining the basics and some potential methods that could be used:

    http://www.pineight.com/ds/pass/
     
  6. jaxter
    OP

    Newcomer jaxter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    Great info, but kinda depressing... makes me wonder if newer revisions will fix the BIOS bugs, blocking passme2 too... yikes.
     

Share This Page

Loading...