Passcard 3!?

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by T-hug, May 23, 2006.

May 23, 2006

Passcard 3!? by T-hug at 12:43 PM (8,044 Views / 0 Likes) 41 replies

  1. T-hug
    OP

    Chief Editor T-hug Always like this.

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    8,510
    Featured Posts:
    5
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well it seems M3 are at it again!​
     


  2. sarsam

    Newcomer sarsam Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    land of gandhi, taj mahal
    Country:
    India
    GOOD WORK!!!!!! I think the features will be-
    1) no sram.dat needed
    2) cheaper
    3) games like tetris which didnot work will work perfectly..
     
  3. Picolo

    Newcomer Picolo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Sweden
    What can this do that Datel Max Media Launcher can't (exept the working sleepmode)?

    To me it looks like the same product.
     
  4. Mehdi

    Member Mehdi Lemonade by Psyfira

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,071
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I hope you can put the roms on the passcard itself instead. I doubt it but if it does I would love to get one.
     
  5. viper133

    Newcomer viper133 Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    damn, i just brought the datel max media launcher, should've wait since i still didnt have a ds lite yet.
     
  6. Digeman

    Member Digeman GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    759
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Sweden
    I don't get it. What will be the difference with this passcard and passcard 2? [​IMG]
     
  7. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Anyone say Max Media Launcher Rip Off.
     
  8. Shinji

    Member Shinji ҉҉ ҉҉

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,374
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    City of Delusion
    Country:
    United States
    Thats what this can do that the Max Media Launcher cannot, make people regret NOT buying it XD

    I really think they're going overboard with the PassMe's...unless there is new features that they're going to put, which I hope is the case.
     
  9. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,965
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    So wait, all I would have to do is just put this thing in the DS slot instead of a Passkey and a real game?
     
  10. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I just got my passkey 2 today. That'll suit me just fine. Install flashme then I don't have to worry about it again.
     
  11. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    11,972
    Featured Posts:
    3
    yeah [​IMG] that's what they call passcards !

    but this one sounds really cool because it's compatible with new DS versions without programming
     
  12. thieves like us

    Member thieves like us chaos personified

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,057
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    left of the pond
    Country:
    United States
    do they mean the month of may? if so, this may bode well for those who have a pending order for a passcard 2 with kicktrading.ca
    they said that they are expecting restock on or around june 5th, which could be the newer v3 passcards.
     
  13. DevilCrash76

    Newcomer DevilCrash76 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Berlin
    Country:
    Germany
    Hi All!

    currently i own a 'Passcard2' ... what will be the differences to this version?

    MPH, Tetris and SNMB work for me (M3 MiniSD) since i updated its firmware to E19 (NDS Lite, bought after 01.05.06)

    Thanks
    JTC
     
  14. chooch81

    Newcomer chooch81 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    I have an M3 CF card and a ds lite - does this mea i dont need the passkey 2? it would be much nicer to have this than have the big stupid passkey2.
     
  15. TheSpade

    Member TheSpade GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Eastern U.S.A.
    Country:
    United States
    Note that this "press release" said nothing about improved battery usage.
     
  16. skfields01

    Member skfields01 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    396
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    United States
    Here is what I see is the difference...

    As far as I can tell. the Passcard2 still has to have the boot file on your Flashcard. You then turn on your system (while the Passcard2 is NOT inserted), use the boot file, turn your system off, insert the Passcard2, and then turn your system on. It is a process.

    With this "New: Passcard... just put it in your system, turn it on, and your good to go. No more steps or boot file.
     
  17. chooch81

    Newcomer chooch81 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    83
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Where can i purchase from? [​IMG]
     
  18. Ace Gunman

    Former Staff Ace Gunman ~••Lucky҉Shot••~

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,385
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    Wassamatta U
    Country:
    Canada
    Anyone can see this is just a knee-jerk reaction to the Max Media Launcher. But that doesn't make it any less cool. And I love the colors. White and red trumps green and orange, ugh. I wonder how this stands up to the MML though. Only time will tell, I suppose. [​IMG]
     
  19. accolon

    Member accolon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Country:
    Germany
    I never understood why so many people are talking about this complicated booting process, perhaps I'm missing something?

    I've got a DS and a DS Lite, as well as a Passkey2 (came with my M3 SD) and a Max Media Launcher. No matter which combination I think of, for me it has always been simply a matter of plugging in both the M3 and one of the pass devices and turning the DS on. The DS boots into the M3 menu, and that's it.

    I had to program the Passkey2 before I could use it, but all I had to do was to run the GBA ROM containing the configuration software once and select the DS game I wanted to use with the Passkey from that moment on.

    So why do people have to go through all the things skfields01 described above?
     
  20. Lily

    Former Staff Lily One Scary Lady

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    5,727
    Featured Posts:
    0
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    People are misunderstanding, that's why.

    The programming of the PassCard 2 & PassKey 2 are one time events folks!

    After the devices have been programmed - you simply insert and go.
     

Share This Page

Loading...